Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Boat Builders Row > O'Day
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2007

Seekswind is on a distinguished road
Rebedding Sail tracks

First time rebedding sail tracks this spring. Any advice on techniques and products would be very helpful to me as I am new to sailing.

Thanks
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-07-2007

sailingcal21 is on a distinguished road
Rebedding Sail Tracks

No takers, huh?

I've got to do the same. Probably early this summer. I haven't done this task before either but I've rebedded quite a few exterior fixtures before; hand rails; cleats; etc. I plan on rebedding in the same fashion as other fixtures after inspecting the existing mounting holes to insure that there is no delamination. I'm not expecting that the area is cored (Karma is an '81 O'Day 34) but if it is, I'll enlarge the existing holes; epoxy and redrill them to insure that any future leaks do not get between the laminations.

I'm just not looking forward to unfastening and fastening all the fasteners.
1981 O'Day 34
"No matter where you go, there you are."
Old 04-07-2007
moderate?

camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough
Scott...I've done it several time but claim no particular expertise. Any leaks will come at the fasteners so it is important to bed them well and not tighten fully until the compound has fully set up or else you just squeeze it out of where it belongs. I used silicone on my fasteners and after loading up the holes and making sure the uppr threads of the bolts are well coated...I tighten down on the nuts just past finger tight...then wait for 24 hours to tighten fully so I have a nice rubber gasket under pressure for sealing. Hope that helps and no one tells me I've done it completely wrong. Worked for me!
Old 04-08-2007