Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Boat Builders Row > O'Day
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-23-2009
repair it all

rustyballast is on a distinguished road
O'Day 30 Swing Keel Rigging

New to sailing I decided to start with a small boat. I have figured out the sailing part although finer points I am still learning. The boat has a swing keel and to raise / lower there is a line that runs across the cabin back to the cockpit. Raising the keel requires considerable effort, there are no blocks, winches, etc... just a rope and a cleat. Is this normal? I suspect that there should be a couple blocks or some arrangement so as to not risk breaking your back to pull up the keel.

The other possibility is that there is something binding inside the keel.

When the boat was hauled out and surveyed the keel looked fine.

The family really enjoys the boat and she is beautiful.

Any help is appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 11-23-2009
1934 Chickering

deniseO30 will become famous soon enough deniseO30 will become famous soon enough
Rusty welcome to the "net"! I've a O30 but deep keel not CB. I beleive the swing K is "neutral balance" rudy at D&R marine dot com should know the answer.

My boat is for sale.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 11-23-2009
repair it all

Thank-you Denise,

I will call D&R tomorrow. If it is true that it is neutral then there is an issue with the rope and cable assembly. Someone mentioned that perhaps the wrong knot was tied last and it is too fat, thus it binds.

This would make sense as when I untie the line from the cleat, some time later I will hear a clunk as, I assume the swing keel falls down.
Old 11-23-2009
1934 Chickering

deniseO30 will become famous soon enough deniseO30 will become famous soon enough
or critters and barnacles?

My boat is for sale.