Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance > Engines > Outboard
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree4Likes
  • 2 Post By nccouple
  • 2 Post By chrissailorman

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2014
Scurvy Dog

Reef33 is on a distinguished road
Question Bringing Outboard Back To Life

I have a 1993 Johnson Sailmaster 8.0hp that has been in "storage" for about 8 years. Okay.... it's been sitting in the yard for 8 years. Any tips on bringing it back to life? It had not been winterized, but I'm going to get around to it any day now.....

Bonus Question: I thought at one time you could get an electric starter for these motors, but I can't Google anything on the subject to save my butt. Anybody know if there is such a thing?

Doggone size restrictions on photos on this forum

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Bringing Outboard Back To Life-20140608_171828a.jpg   Bringing Outboard Back To Life-20140608_171642a.jpg   Bringing Outboard Back To Life-20140608_171659a.jpg  

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Scourge of the Upper Chesapeake since 1993.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 06-09-2014
Banned

nccouple is on a distinguished road
Re: Bringing Outboard Back To Life

Ok this can be done but it will take a little work, I've done it more than once. After 8 years its probably locked up. First thing is to remove the spark plugs, set the motor down with the plug holes facing upwards and fill the cylinders with penetrating oil. the let it sit, longer the better. After a couple days of soaking, get a wooden dowel or a brass rod and gently tap the cylinders to try to break them free.