SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Replacing engine mounts

8K views 25 replies 11 participants last post by  johnharch 
#1 ·
The engine on YANKEE is a Yanmar 3JH2e. I want to replace the four engine mounts and will order two #100 and two #150 mounts from the Yanmar dealer. The bolting looks straight forward. I am not so sure about how to lift the engine. I assume I have to hoist the engine about two inches to free the installed mounts and to push the new mounts in. Has anyone done this? Any advice? I do not see any lifting lugs on the engine.
Thank you.
Wolfgang
1994 PSC34 #274
S/V YANKEE

#3 ·
I just replaced mine earlier this summer and used a combination of 2x4s and a cheap chain fall that I found at Harbor Freight. However, before I started lifting anything I carefully measured the height of each mount with a caliper so that I could get it back close to alignment afterwards. I had to take the measurement differently for each mount due to the clearance for the caliper, so I made pen marks on the struts and engine beds to get the caliper in the same exact spot later and also took photos with my phone for each one. The pictures helped out immensely because it was hard to remember exactly how I held the caliper or what I was measuring from in the first place. This part worked out better than I had expected and after changing out all the mounts and returning them to the previous measurements my engine was almost perfectly aligned. (In the second attached picture you can see the pen marks on the mount and engine bed in an effort to return the caliper to the exact same spot later.)