Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Boat Builders Row > Pacific Seacraft
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-25-2009

billbalme is on a distinguished road
Instruments

I'm looking to replace my old and unreliable datamarine depth and speed units.

I guess I'll go with Raymarine ST70 - so that I can link it it my dated Raymarine GPS and Radar/Charplotter.

Question: Is this something that is best done by a marine electronics guy or is it feasible to install oneself?
Has anyone done this before?
Can one use the old thruhulls?

Thanks,

Bill
s/v Toodle-oo!
PSC37 #148
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-25-2009

arisatx is on a distinguished road
Bill:

I have no first hand experience, but according to the Ray Install instructions, the ST70 should be plug & play into an existing SeaTalk network including your existing transducers.

But as you state your system is "problematic", have you determined if the issue is in the instrument or the sensors? I've been looking to get rid of my paddlewheel speed unit with an ultrasonic one such as Airmar's CS4500 here.

For some good background info on ST70 and other N2K instruments, there's great info on Ben Ellison's PANBO blog here.
V42#186
s/v Little Wing
Old 11-25-2009

lsbrodsky is on a distinguished road
This is an upgrade you can do yourself as long as you are willing to invest the time. I changed from Raymarine ST50's to ST60's and linked the system with an E80 chartplotter, radar, Sirius weather(and audio), and Lifetag. The ST70 has NMEA 2000 capability but I don't think any of your other stuff interfaces with that. I did a Seatalk-ng network on my powerboat and it is just as easy although more expensive.