Go Back   SailNet Community > Boat Builders Row > Pacific Seacraft
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-28-2011

johnbanfield is on a distinguished road
Staysail sheeting for PSC37

Hi all,
I am converting from sloop to cutter on my 37 and have a few questions:

1. Sheeting - do you actually use the track or does your car stay in the same place (like a lot of my Gennie cars). If so where is that?

2. Sheeting 2 - do you need 2 sets of sheets or can you just use the inner sheeting for downwind too?

2. Running backstays- where do they go to, and do you use a winch or a 5 to 1 block setup? I am thinking spectra with a 9/16 tail to a winch.

Thanks,
John

Last edited by johnbanfield; 06-29-2011 at 12:49 AM. Reason: Senility
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-29-2011

BMLipiec is on a distinguished road
John,
I'm far from an expert, but our 34 is set up with a staysail on roller furling.

1. Sheeting - My cars stay in the same place most of the time, but I would adjust them if I were to roller reef the staysail in a blow, in order to get a better sheet angle.

2. Sheeting 2 - I have a single set of sheets and rarely use the staysail when downwind. When I do I just let the sheet out like you would the jib.

3. I think you mean backstays - they have their own track on the deck (near the scupper drains). Mine are spectra with a 5-1 block. Unless I'm hard on the wind with the boom hauled in tight, they are disconnected from the deck and are moved forward and stowed next to the standing rigging - attached to a ring on the aft turnbuckle. They can't be permenantly attached because the boom cannot swing out very far when they are rigged.

Hope this helps.
Hull #281

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 06-29-2011

Oops,
Sorry I do mean running backs. Thanks for the info.

Cheers, John
Old 06-29-2011

DaveMancini is on a distinguished road
John,