Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Boat Builders Row > Pacific Seacraft
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2012

gamayun is on a distinguished road
Diving from a PSC 34?

Hi, I'm in the market for a 32-35' sailboat. I like the offshore features of the PSC; however, I'm a diver and would really like a walk through transom, but I'm not enthused with the Hunter and Beneteau. Has anyone done any diving off their PSC? How is it set up? Thanks!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-08-2012

steneck is on a distinguished road
Re: Diving from a PSC 34?

For all of the wonderful cruising features PSC 34 has, supporting scuba diving is not one of them. Its high freeboard, small cockpit and lack of large volume storage for tanks are hard to work around.

Likely the best course of action for diving from a PSC 34 is to mount tanks on your lifeline and use an inflatable for your entry and exits.

I'm a marine biologist with 52 years of scuba diving experience - I own PSC 34 and have thought about this a lot. This isn't the boat I'd use for doing lots of diving.

Bob Steneck
PSC 34 Alaria
Christmas Cove, Maine
Old 07-09-2012

MarcHall is on a distinguished road

I have made few hundred dives from my Crealock 37 Crazy Fish, both in Southern California and Pacific Mexico.

I have always anchored or moored the boat in a safe anchorage and then used my inflatable to access the dive sites. Most of the dive sites I have dived are sites where I probably would not want to anchor and/or anchor and leave the boat unattended. The inflatable is another story, I have left it anchored and unattended in some interesting spots with good diving over the side.

So in looking at a new boat I would not factor in the ease of diving off of it, I simply would not do that, preferring to dive off an inflatable.