SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Racing Articles (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/racing-articles/)
-   -   Heavy Air Fears (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/racing-articles/20698-heavy-air-fears.html)

Dan Dickison 07-19-2002 09:00 PM

Heavy Air Fears

<HTML><P>I sail an Optimist. I'm a pretty dedicated racer, and I've been sailing for about a year and a half, but I still get a little nervous when the air is heavy. Do you know what kind of psychological motivation I could give myself to overcome my fear? </P><P><STRONG>Dan Dickison responds</STRONG>:<BR>It's very natural for sailboat racers to be nervous about heavy air. I've been racing for over 25 years and I still get apprehensive when I'm heading out to a racecourse where the puffs are knocking boats over and blowing the foam off the whitecaps. Actually, it's healthy for sailors to be a little nervous about these kinds of conditions. It's an indication that you're respectful of the weather and aware of its power. Any seasoned sailor whether a racer or cruiser will tell you that's being slightly afraid is the most healthy outlook to have.</P><P>That said, there are ways in which you can become more comfortable in heavy air, and the most direct method is by practicing in it. The next time you have an opportunity to sail in big breeze, look at the occasion as a learning experience. First, make sure that all the gear on your boat is secure and that you don't have any frayed lines or fittings that aren't securely fastened. Also take a quick look at your sails to make sure they're up to the rigors of heavy-air sailing. Then make sure that your safety equipment—life jacket, flotation bags, etc.—are in good order. After that, you'll be ready to go out and start honing your heavy-air skills. </P><P>You probably already know how to "blade" your sail out with the outhaul, vang, and cunnhingham, so do everything you can to make sure the sail (or sails if you're on a boat with a jib) is d