Go Back   SailNet Community > Contributing Authors > Racing Articles
 Not a Member? 

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-13-2002
Contributing Authors

Carol Cronin is on a distinguished road
Talking the Talk

Regardless of the wind and wave conditions, clear communication between the driver and the headsail trimmer is one of the important keys to performance.
This year the conditions at the Annapolis NOOD Regatta covered both extremes in wind strength. Friday it blew the clams out of the mud, Saturday we didnít race because there was no wind, and Sunday we barely crept around the racecourse in zero to three knots. Fridayís big breeze was obviously more exciting for anyone watching. To those folks, the two days we actually did race probably looked completely different, but heavy-air and light-air conditions have one thing in common: both require constant communication between the helmsman and the trimmers.

As a boat driver, I find that coordinating with a headsail trimmer is one of the biggest keys to boat speed when sailing in a broad range of conditions. In moderate air and flat water the trimmer can pretty much just trim in the headsail until it looks right and cleat it off. But in big puffs and big waves, or with no wind building to a tiny puff, the angles of the wind are changing too fast for the person on the helm to respond properly. Throw in a few powerboat wakes, and the picture changes even faster. So enter the attentive trimmer, a too-often neglected member of the team who has the power to truly make or break a race.