Rule 18 and Starboard Tack at the Leeward Mark - SailNet Community
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 07-31-2013 Thread Starter
Windseeker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oceanside CA
Posts: 167
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 8
 
Rule 18 and Starboard Tack at the Leeward Mark

A situation I was in in a race last year has been bugging me and it would be awesome to get some clarity on it.

Winds were light and as we rounded the leeward mark on port tack (heading for a port tack reach) we were in a bunch of boats, perhaps half a dozen or so. We managed to get inside and overlapped on the front row and it seemed like we were going to have a great rounding, though everyone was going pretty slowly.

Into this situation a significantly larger and faster boat approached, in clear air and on starboard. We were already within a couple of boat lengths of the mark and they just barged in front causing us to take evasive action and nabbing our position on the inside of the rounding.

The captain and tactician did not protest as the other boat had starboard advantage but my understanding is that this only applies at the windward mark and in this case big boy needed to step back and take his turn.

Who's right?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theonecalledtom is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 07-31-2013
Senior Member
 
Letrappes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lake Charles, LA
Posts: 144
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 6
 
If you truly were the inside boat in the three boat length circle at the leeward mark then you were required to be given room by the other boats. The starboard boat which came in from clear astern only had rights on boats which were outside or behind him before the three boat length circle. By that boat making you change course at the mark rounding he fouled you and every other boat that owed you room at the mark.

In a protest committee you would've been exonerated and probably could've gotten redress for avoiding the collision. The boat on starboard that barged in would've been thrown out for not exonerating themselves by doing a 720. This would of course only have occurred if someone on your boat or the surrounding boats had protested as per RRS or the SI's if they were different.

The overtaking boat should've taken the outside of the pinwheel, gotten clear air and left you behind. I see this situation a lot with catamaran sailors who think higher speed = more rights.
Letrappes is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #3 of 3 Old 08-01-2013 Thread Starter
Windseeker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oceanside CA
Posts: 167
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 8
 
Re: Rule 18 and Starboard Tack at the Leeward Mark

Thanks for confirming that. It "felt" wrong - if everyone did that we'd have loads of collisions.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theonecalledtom is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Reply

Tags
rule 18

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the SailNet Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Please note: After entering 3 characters a list of Usernames already in use will appear and the list will disappear once a valid Username is entered.


User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Port tack faster than starboard tack, same point of sail? zAr Learning to Sail 28 09-06-2011 05:57 PM
Privileged on Starboard, when do you tack away? KeelHaulin Seamanship & Navigation 21 06-05-2010 12:49 PM
Lugger Leeward 16.... windship Boat Review and Purchase Forum 5 09-05-2006 04:59 PM
rounding leeward jrwright General Discussion (sailing related) 1 05-23-2004 06:49 PM
Handling Leeward Gates Brad Read Racing Articles 0 04-14-2002 08:00 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome