SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Crewed for the second time

3K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  CaptAwesome 
#1 ·
Hi all,
Wanted to share our second experience crewing. This time, we crewed at the school in Colchester, VT, where we took our 101 course. The owner is a wonderful woman, and she set up the teams. This is Vermont, as opposed to our first time in NY with the screaming captain, so everyone is very nice and polite. We were racing on Solings, the boat we learned on.

My poor captain, Evan, got his friend, who was a total newbie, and me. His friend didn't even know to uncleat one side of the jib to pull in the other, but he was mechanical, so he got the hang of the spinnaker gybe really well. I had just finished a class at the school on the spinnaker, so I was able to set it up, gybe it once, and pull it down every time. I also flew it a bit, but the captain was very good, and was piloting the boat and flying the spinnaker at the same time!! He was talented, calm and fun.

We made a few mistakes, but nothing serious, and we came in second out of six boats, which was amazing considering who he had to work with!! But it was a lot of fun!! Much more relaxing than with the Screamer. I actually could hear what this captain was telling me and I was able to think - one time, something was stuck, I can't even remember now, but because he wasn't screaming at me, I was able to look at the situation, see where it was hung up, and resolve it.

My husband was also with a terrific captain, this guy spent more time teaching my husband rather than racing, so my husband had a great experience also. I'm really glad we went!! We are planning on going again in two weeks, and because we both did OK, I don't think the captains will dread having us on their boats!!

I like racing!!!