Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Racing
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2008

DrB will become famous soon enough
My First Season of Racing

This is my first year of racing. The season is winding down and I thought Iíd pass along my experiences and learnings from racing. My experience is the following: 1 time racing on an Etchells, once on a J109, and about 10X on a J105 (with the same skipper).
  1. Fast enough isnít fast enough. You matter what you are doing, trim, hoist, takedown, even if you have it done in an instant, it still was too slow.
  2. The start is 50% of the game the first down wind set 30%, and the remaining 20% is a combination of luck, minimizing mistakes, and picking the right spots.
  3. Collisions are avoided by inches after 3 seconds of shear chaos and frantic steering. However, a collision course between two boats often is known well in advance, but for some reason everyone has a ďI donít think we are on a collision courseĒ belief until 5 seconds before.
  4. Every boat sails differently. The same boat even in different wind conditions.
  5. Skippers never lose the race, itís always the crews fault some how.
  6. Crews never win a race, the skipper does.
  7. In a fleet of 10 boats, if 8 boats pick one tack off the start or around a mark and you and another are on the other tack, youíre probably wrong.
  8. As the wind speed increases, so does the yelling and crew tension.
  9. Every boat has a Know-it-all. 99% of the time, this is not the skipper.
  10. There is a HUGE difference between cruising sail trim and racing sail trim. Just because youíre decent at cruising trim does not necessarily mean you are good at race sail trimming
  11. A competent bow person is major factor in setting and dousing the spinny. Without them, itís a pure crap shoot if the sail comes up right or gets dropped in the water during the douse.