Retiring After Finishing - SailNet Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 09-08-2008 Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
captainrizzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 9
 
Retiring After Finishing

This past weekend, I skippered my boat for the first time in a distance race on Lake Michigan. It was a 15 NM course with a gate half way. The sailing instructions stated that the finish would be at the gate if the finish was not crossed within the 6-hour time limit. There was a 5-hour time limit to reach the gate.

We had good wind at the start but the wind died. We made the gate within the 5-hour time limit as did three other boats in our division. Four boats in our division did not make it to the gate.

Two boats that made the gate ahead of us, retired from the race prior to the 6-hour time limit!

I am wondering if other racers could weigh in on how you think the scoring should have been calculated. Particularly, do the following apply?

Rule A4.2: A boat that did not start, did not finish, retired after finishing, or was disqualified shall be scored points for the finishing place one more than the number of boats entered in the series (again, there were 8 boats in our division).

Rule A6.1: If a boat is disqualified from a race or retires after finishing, each boat with a worse finishing place shall be moved up one place.

Should the two boats that retired been designated RAF (Retired After Finishing) according to Rule A11?

-Riz
2005 Catalina 350 Grazia

"If you want to build a ship, don't herd people together to collect wood. Just teach them to long for the endless immensity of the sea"
Antoine de Saint

My Blog:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
captainrizzo is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 09-08-2008
Moderator
 
JohnRPollard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chesapeake
Posts: 5,680
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 10
     
They dropped out before the race was over (6 hour limit). As such, I would not say that they retired after finishing. I would have scored them DNF, under A4.2.

However, how did they drop out? Did they actually call the RC and say they were retiring? Or did they alter course for home port, knowing that no one could finish within the 6 hour limit, and thereby let the limit expire?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Pacific Seacraft Crealock 31 #62

NEVER CALLS CRUISINGDAD BACK....CAN"T TAKE THE ACCENT

Last edited by JohnRPollard; 09-08-2008 at 10:17 AM.
JohnRPollard is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #3 of 11 Old 09-08-2008 Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
captainrizzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 9
 
In both cases, they called the race committee and said this is (Boat Name) and we are retiring from the race. They started their motors and headed for port.

-Riz
2005 Catalina 350 Grazia

"If you want to build a ship, don't herd people together to collect wood. Just teach them to long for the endless immensity of the sea"
Antoine de Saint

My Blog:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
captainrizzo is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #4 of 11 Old 09-08-2008
Moderator
 
JohnRPollard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chesapeake
Posts: 5,680
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 10
     
They quit the race before it was over at the 6 hour limit. DNF.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Pacific Seacraft Crealock 31 #62

NEVER CALLS CRUISINGDAD BACK....CAN"T TAKE THE ACCENT
JohnRPollard is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #5 of 11 Old 09-08-2008
Thanks Courtney.
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 3,954
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 13
     
I agree with JP- If the instructions stated:
the finish would be at the gate if the finish was not crossed within the 6-hour time limit.
then the finish was only moved to the gate AFTER 6 hours had elapsed. Prior to that 6 hr. time limit, the finish was at the original location. The two boats should be DNF.

hunter Legend 37 Semper Paratus
Formerly - Tartan 34C Yawl
T34C is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #6 of 11 Old 09-08-2008
Senior Member
 
sailortjk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Porter, IN
Posts: 4,647
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 12
   
What Chris does not mention because he is being polite is that the race commitee had their heads up their asses all day.

It was obvious from about the second hour that nobody was going to finish in the 6 hour time limit. Of the 75 or so boats that statred only two finished within the time frame. They should have shortened the race from the very beginning.

Also, he radioed the commitee and asked for clarification. We had passed the half way gate in the time frame allowed but it was obvious that we would not finish in 6 hours. The commitee boat stated that the race was still going and that if we started our engine "we" would be "disqulified." Well than why the hell did the two boats that radioed in and dropped out receive 2nd and 3rd place trophies? Why were they not disqualified? Thats the question.

It appears that they went back and took the times form the half way gate as the finish times regardless of weather you carried on to the end or dropped out.

Courtney is My Hero

If a man is to be obsessed by something, I suppose a boat is as good as anything, perhaps a bit better than most - E.B. White

Last edited by sailortjk1; 09-08-2008 at 10:52 AM.
sailortjk1 is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #7 of 11 Old 09-08-2008 Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
captainrizzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 9
 
What Chris also didn't mention is that Tim crewed on my boat for the race and he is a great sailor and it is a privilege to call him friend.

-Riz
2005 Catalina 350 Grazia

"If you want to build a ship, don't herd people together to collect wood. Just teach them to long for the endless immensity of the sea"
Antoine de Saint

My Blog:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
captainrizzo is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #8 of 11 Old 09-08-2008
*starboard*
 
merlin2375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 495
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 10
 
Another in agreement for DNF, never seen this done but can you protest their trophies? Shame on them for accepting them...once you retire, you're out in my opinion.

I sail.
merlin2375 is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #9 of 11 Old 09-08-2008
Just another Moderator
 
Faster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Westminster, BC
Posts: 18,558
Thanks: 135
Thanked 477 Times in 451 Posts
Rep Power: 10
     
Yeah, if they officially pulled out before the 6 hour limit, they should not have been scored anything but DNF or RET.

Ron

1984 Fast/Nicholson 345 "FastForward"

".. there is much you could do at sea with common sense.. and very little you could do without it.."
Capt G E Ericson (from "The Cruel Sea" by Nicholas Monsarrat)
Faster is online now  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #10 of 11 Old 09-08-2008
Thanks Courtney.
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 3,954
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 13
     
From the descriptions above, I'd have to agree the RC had a chronic case of cranialincerrectum.

Chris/Tim, get a room!

hunter Legend 37 Semper Paratus
Formerly - Tartan 34C Yawl
T34C is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

By choosing to post the reply above you agree to the rules you agreed to when joining Sailnet.
Click Here to view those rules.

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the SailNet Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Please note: After entering 3 characters a list of Usernames already in use will appear and the list will disappear once a valid Username is entered.


User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finishing a Cockpit Table ahalfon Gear & Maintenance 22 07-18-2008 10:14 PM
Order of finishing a boat davidpm Sailboat Design and Construction 14 04-26-2008 12:16 PM
Boats slowly finishing annual race to Mackinac - MLive.com NewsReader News Feeds 0 07-24-2007 02:15 PM
Finishing the job with trip to Mackinac - Port Huron Times Herald NewsReader News Feeds 0 07-14-2006 02:15 PM
Beloved music icon is retiring -- again (Miami Herald) NewsReader News Feeds 0 04-29-2006 05:15 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome