whisker pole - SailNet Community

   Search Sailnet:

 forums  store  


Quick Menu
Forums           
Articles          
Galleries        
Boat Reviews  
Classifieds     
Search SailNet 
Boat Search (new)

Shop the
SailNet Store
Anchor Locker
Boatbuilding & Repair
Charts
Clothing
Electrical
Electronics
Engine
Hatches and Portlights
Interior And Galley
Maintenance
Marine Electronics
Navigation
Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here






Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Racing
 Not a Member? 


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-22-2002
mikehoyt's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 675
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 14
mikehoyt is on a distinguished road
whisker pole

In white sail races I have been told it is prohibited to have the whisker pole and the mainsail boom on the same side. However I can find no reference to this in the racing rules of sailing.

Any thoughts on this? Is it actually a rule?

Thanks,

Mike
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #2  
Old 08-22-2002
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 15
geohan is on a distinguished road
whisker pole

Mike The restriction on using the wisker pole on the same side as the main boom is in the PHRF rules. See ch 2, sec K, # 4, pg 20. Don''t ask me for the reason as I sure can''t think of one.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #3  
Old 08-23-2002
mikehoyt's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 675
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 14
mikehoyt is on a distinguished road
whisker pole

Where do I find the PHRF rules?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #4  
Old 08-23-2002
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 13
capnjim02 is on a distinguished road
whisker pole

The PHRF rules re; whisker poles/spin poles is in reference to their unpenalized length and not their use. On a whisker pole if its telescoping, then a red band must be visable when extended to its rated length, which is its "J" dim. if its not oversized and penalized. How it may be used is spelled out in the USsailing rules. Which now says, it may be used on the same side as the boom if so desired. The old rules stated that they could''nt be on the same side, except when performing a gybe.
The site for chesapeake bay rules can be found at www.phrfchesbay.com
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #5  
Old 08-23-2002
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 15
geohan is on a distinguished road
whisker pole

Capnjim Does your PHRF rule book contain the sentence: "One whisker pole only shall be used, on side of boat opposite to main boom, even though more than one jib is set simultaneously"? Doesn''t that go to the point of your rating? If then your rating is compromised, are you racing fairly? While I raise these questions, I hope that you are correct. Between 80d and 120d apparent a vanged pole to leeward is the only way to prevent excessive twist in the high clewed genoa.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #6  
Old 08-23-2002
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 15
geohan is on a distinguished road
whisker pole

Mike: www.phrf-nw.org will get the PHRF for Puget Sound. A link brings up the rules.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #7  
Old 08-26-2002
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 13
capnjim02 is on a distinguished road
whisker pole

Mike;
there appears to be some diff between the nw and the chesapeake. chessie. does not require that the whisker pole be set opposite the boom. dead downwind you obviously would want it opposite. all the rules and ussailing state only one pole may be used at a time except when gybing. re;ussailing 50.2 there are times when its adventageous to pole out gennie same side as boom on certain reaches and its perfectly legal by USSailing rules. I don''t know which rule would take precadence. PHRF or USSail. You should also look at USSailing rule 50.3(b)(2) On the chessie we have two non-spin classes. one and two headsail classes. since your rules state it must be opposite then you might want to consider sheeting on the end of the boom on certain reaches. this keeps the slot open and shapes the genie much better. I think I remember seeing in your rules that you can sheet a headsail to the end of the boom subject to "E" dim. plus 6 inches. this can be a great help depending on your part. design of sail configuration. You would just need to go out and try diff. settings and see what works for your part. boat.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #8  
Old 08-26-2002
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 15
geohan is on a distinguished road
whisker pole

Capnjim: Thanks for the tip that the PHRF rules re whisker poles may differ from area to area. Perhaps PHRF-NW just didn''t get around to dropping the same-side restriction. For a short handed white-sail sailor it would sure be handy when running wing and wing and not quite clearing a headland, to be able to just gybe the main for a short jog on the other tack and to then flop back with room to clear, all without having to mess with the pole.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #9  
Old 08-26-2002
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 13
capnjim02 is on a distinguished road
whisker pole

Mike;
I would guess that whatever sailing assoc. or club you are racing in has prescriptions it sails under, such as ISAF. if they sailing to these rules, i would think, unless they specifically state that there is deviation from those presc. then the ISAF rules would take presedence. since isaf does not prohibit the use of poles on same side as boom then i would do it. you need to find out if the clubs have a deviation from 2001-2004 in their sailing instructions. I believe that if they are deviating they have to so state in their club rules or sailing instructions.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #10  
Old 09-05-2002
mikehoyt's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 675
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 14
mikehoyt is on a distinguished road
whisker pole

I have had an update from the Canadian Yachting Association on this topic. Apparently this was a very old rule that has been out of use for some years. See below for their response.

"RRS 50.2 covers the use of whisker poles. The only restrictions are
shown i.e. one pole and when in use it must be attached to the mast.
There is no restriction about what side of the mast the pole must lie.

There used to be a restriction (RRS 1989-1992, rule 64.2) that a
spinnaker pole or whisker pole must be attached to the opposite side of
the mast to where the main boom was carried but this rule was changed
many years ago when the 1993-1996 rules were adopted."

Thanks for all the help,

Mike

Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

 
Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whisker Pole Length mikehoyt Racing 1 07-08-2004 08:18 AM
Inexpensive Whisker Pole Stormer Gear & Maintenance 1 03-08-2003 06:11 AM
Whisker Poles RichardElliott Gear & Maintenance 1 02-11-2003 10:27 AM
? pole for asym spinaker on O''Day 30 cb capnjim02 Racing 0 07-29-2002 01:28 PM
Whisker Pole vs Cruising Spinnaker r2straebel Gear & Maintenance 5 01-24-2002 08:25 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:38 AM.

Add to My Yahoo!         
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
(c) Marine.com LLC 2000-2012

The SailNet.com store is owned and operated by a company independent of the SailNet.com forum. You are now leaving the SailNet forum. Click OK to continue or Cancel to return to the SailNet forum.