Rights and luffing sails - Page 2 - SailNet Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #11 of 14 Old 08-23-2009
Senior Member
 
paulk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: CT/ Long Island Sound
Posts: 2,603
Thanks: 4
Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 16
 
To answer your original question... things have changed. Forget what you thought was the case "many years ago". Your sails could be luffing while you are on port or starboard tack - with the attendant implications. Your sails do not have to be filled for you to be on one tack or the other. Look at the definition of being on a tack- it's your windward side, regardless of how your sails are trimmed. If you are tacking, you have to keep clear of other boats, but that's not because your sails are luffing, it's because you're tacking.
paulk is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 14 Old 08-24-2009 Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jarcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Smithfield, RI
Posts: 1,008
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 7
 
Yes, and I saw that you can now be head to wind, and if you were on a starboard tack before you got that way you're still on a starboard tack.
jarcher is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #13 of 14 Old 08-24-2009
tap
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 7
 
Once you pass head to wind you have no rights under rule 13, until you reach a close-hauled course. I'm not entirely sure what constitutes a closed hauled course. Must your sails be trimmed properly or is it simply the boat's course that matters?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zz4gta
sail under them and try calling them up, but then you would've overtaken from astern and have no rights.
What rule is that from? Rule 17 only prevents a leeward boat that acquire overlap from astern from sailing above her proper course, but a boat has no proper course before the race starts.
tap is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #14 of 14 Old 08-25-2009
I don't discuss my member
 
zz4gta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 2,529
Thanks: 0
Thanked 31 Times in 31 Posts
Rep Power: 8
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tap View Post
Once you pass head to wind you have no rights under rule 13, until you reach a close-hauled course. I'm not entirely sure what constitutes a closed hauled course. Must your sails be trimmed properly or is it simply the boat's course that matters?


What rule is that from? Rule 17 only prevents a leeward boat that acquire overlap from astern from sailing above her proper course, but a boat has no proper course before the race starts.
Correct, the way I wrote it is confusing. There's no proper course before the start, but as soon as the gun goes off, you can't sail above your proper course.

Merit 25 # 764 "Audrey"
zz4gta is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the SailNet Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Please note: After entering 3 characters a list of Usernames already in use will appear and the list will disappear once a valid Username is entered.


User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rules - Luffing v Sailing above proper course Bootydawg Racing 2 09-09-2005 07:15 AM
Racing Rules, Part Two Dean Brenner Learning to Sail Articles 0 08-14-2002 08:00 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome