SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Racing (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/racing/)
-   -   Mistakes! We all make them....right? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/racing/63277-mistakes-we-all-make-them-right.html)

NautiGirlB 03-26-2010 09:25 PM

Mistakes! We all make them....right?

Having just spilled my guts in the First Overnight Race thread, I was wondering what kinds of mistakes others have made.

First, biggest or most serious. Funny mistakes, if there is such a thing.

As a newbie, I know that I could learn from hearing from you and maybe others could too.

bljones 03-26-2010 11:45 PM

First sail with my current boat, also first sail on a boat larger than a Mirror dinghy- I had the whisker pole clipped to the lifelines, (mistake 1)and had the genny sheets run inside the shrouds instead of outside (mistake 2). First tack, the windward sheet proceeds to unclip the whisker pole and dump it over the side while the lee sheet simultaneously removes the boathook from the lifeline clips on it's side.
The $10 boathook floated until I could retrieve it.
The $200 whisker pole sunk immediately.

NautiGirlB 03-27-2010 12:07 AM

Ok, BJ please speak to me. What the heck is a whisker pole? Yes, I have heard of it before but have no idea what it is or does

POLKA247 03-27-2010 01:13 AM

Whisker pole is for head sail down wind sailing, with no spinnaker.