Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Racing
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2010

Kenif is on a distinguished road
Tacking - Loss of Speed

Guys,

I am fairly new to sailing and have been fortunate to land a seat on Rusalka i a Phantom 32 class yacht designed and built by Nick Shein in Sydney in 1988.

Now the racing we do is very cruisy and relaxed but you know a race is a race.

We seem to drop a lot of speed tacking.

I have suggested:
  • bearing away before our mark to build up speed
  • rather than a hard 90 degree a more gradual radius
  • when enoughcrew manually assist the clew around the shrouds (large No1 that some times gets caught up

Anything I might be mssing or should I find a faster boat?

Ken
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-12-2010

tager is on a distinguished road
Single line sheet seized together for smoother tacks. Experiment with backing the jib. Bearing away is probably a good strategy depending on position of other boats.
Old 04-12-2010

Sailormon6 will become famous soon enough
It's difficult to identify the exact cause here, but it's a matter of timing. The boat will only coast so far when the sails stop driving. The trick is to figure out how to get the boat across the eye of the wind, and get the sails driving again, before the boat loses way. You have to analyze every aspect of the tacking procedure to figure out exactly where you can reduce the amount of time between the sails breaking at the start of the tack and the sails beginning to drive as it comes out of the tack.

If the helmsman is steering hard 90 deg. turns, that's a very likely cause, because it's almost like putting on the brakes, although some boats turn faster than others.