Rules questions - Page 2 - SailNet Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #11 of 12 Old 07-20-2010
Reward for lost Kraken!
 
hellosailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11,481
Thanks: 5
Thanked 132 Times in 129 Posts
Rep Power: 11
   
GW-
The racing rules define "on a tack" and "tacking" separately, and specify "WHILE TACKING
After a boat passes head to wind, she shall keep clear of other boats
until she is on a close-hauled course." meaning, another racer is no longer "tacking" but is "on a tack" if they've managed to get close-hauled before you can hit them.
Exactly what happened depends on the exact timing and how aggressive the racing is. In some places, if you have room to drop a playing card between two boats, there's no interference. In others...folks want a little more room. So your tacking question would seem to come down to "the devil is in the details". Almost collided? Or completed his trim to close-hauled, and gained rights?
hellosailor is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 12 Old 07-20-2010
Ex Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 125
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 9
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hellosailor View Post
GW-
The racing rules define "on a tack" and "tacking" separately, and specify "WHILE TACKING
After a boat passes head to wind, she shall keep clear of other boats
until she is on a close-hauled course." meaning, another racer is no longer "tacking" but is "on a tack" if they've managed to get close-hauled before you can hit them.
Exactly what happened depends on the exact timing and how aggressive the racing is. In some places, if you have room to drop a playing card between two boats, there's no interference. In others...folks want a little more room. So your tacking question would seem to come down to "the devil is in the details". Almost collided? Or completed his trim to close-hauled, and gained rights?
Trim is irrelevant, he could be sitting there with his thumb up his butt and sails flogging, it's course, not trim in this case
ste27 is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

By choosing to post the reply above you agree to the rules you agreed to when joining Sailnet.
Click Here to view those rules.

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the SailNet Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Please note: After entering 3 characters a list of Usernames already in use will appear and the list will disappear once a valid Username is entered.


User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Understanding the Racing Rules, Part Three Dean Brenner Racing Articles 0 09-09-2002 08:00 PM
Racing Rules Review Dean Brenner Racing Articles 0 06-20-2002 08:00 PM
Understanding the Racing Rules Dan Dickison Racing Articles 0 02-10-2002 07:00 PM
Understanding the Racing Rules Dan Dickison Her Sailnet Articles 0 02-10-2002 07:00 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome