Reward for lost Kraken!
Join Date: Apr 2006
Thanked 131 Times in 128 Posts
Rep Power: 11
The racing rules define "on a tack" and "tacking" separately, and specify "WHILE TACKING
After a boat passes head to wind, she shall keep clear of other boats
until she is on a close-hauled course." meaning, another racer is no longer "tacking" but is "on a tack" if they've managed to get close-hauled before you can hit them.
Exactly what happened depends on the exact timing and how aggressive the racing is. In some places, if you have room to drop a playing card between two boats, there's no interference. In others...folks want a little more room. So your tacking question would seem to come down to "the devil is in the details". Almost collided? Or completed his trim to close-hauled, and gained rights?