Start rule question different fleets - Page 3 - SailNet Community

   Search Sailnet:

 forums  store  


Quick Menu
Forums           
Articles          
Galleries        
Boat Reviews  
Classifieds     
Search SailNet 
Boat Search (new)

Shop the
SailNet Store
Anchor Locker
Boatbuilding & Repair
Charts
Clothing
Electrical
Electronics
Engine
Hatches and Portlights
Interior And Galley
Maintenance
Marine Electronics
Navigation
Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here






Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Racing
 Not a Member? 


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #21  
Old 11-27-2010
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 9
maxmunger is on a distinguished road
There is no way to tell what is going on here. The story keeps changing. Which mark (pin or RC) are they approaching on what tack? B can hardly be timing his start if running parallel to the line for very long.
A could be late for lots of reasons and has full rights to start, however both are racing and those rules must be followed. B may not be aware that A is in a different fleet.
It is shame that two boats can screw around and perhaps spoil the racing for others. Both must be real novices!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
  #22  
Old 11-27-2010
US27inKS's Avatar
Midwest Puddle Pirate
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gardner, KS
Posts: 2,160
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 11
US27inKS has a spectacular aura about US27inKS has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommays View Post
A good sportsman will live with the consequences of there mistakes and not involve others

Will you still agree with this on a light air day as you catch up to, but then are unable to pass the last Atlantic (the one with the foul bottom?) on the course, and your competitors in the J/24 fleet slip by the two of you?

I would be covering the other boats in my division and if i was in the above position i would have to live with the consequences of the POOR tactics involved in putting MYSELF there

It could be argued that the other skipper put himself in a poor position. I would say that he was the victim of an unfortunate wind shift. On a lake in Kansas, wind shifts happen without warning and are certainly unpredictable, especially on light air days. On this day the wind shifted about 50 degrees en-route from the windward mark to the reaching mark. The unfortunate skipper in an Ultima 20 found himself behind me when the wind shift occurred. The other boats in his fleet were already past me. He didn't ask me to pull over, I offered. Was it unfair to the other racers? I guess you could argue that, but in many other forms of racing slower competitors are REQUIRED to pull over for faster competitors, so that racers can RACE.

I don't know where you sail Tommays, but sailing in Kansas isn't like sailing on big water. There are certainly challenges that happen on big water that will never happen on a lake in KS, but we have our own set of challenges. Wind shifts when racing is one of them. We are accustomed to tacking or gybing every 10 minutes or less if the wind doesn't shift. On a "light and variable" day, we may be tacking every 2-3 minutes just to stay pointed at the mark. In fact, we started one race on port tack and never had to tack to the windward mark, but we were flying the spinnaker when we got there. It's a PITA but we all understand that getting caught behind a slower boat may not necessarily be the result of poor tactics. It could just be bad luck.

BTW the other racers in his fleet thought I was a nice guy for letting him by as well.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
John USYacht 27 "Cora Lee"
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

By choosing to post the reply above you agree to the rules you agreed to when joining Sailnet.
Click Here to view those rules.

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the SailNet Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Please note: After entering 3 characters a list of Usernames already in use will appear and the list will disappear once a valid Username is entered.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

 
Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sinking of Rule 62 billyruffn General Discussion (sailing related) 635 04-07-2013 02:46 PM
Connecting with other "Slow Boat" Fleets, anywhere.. niko Racing 2 07-15-2009 04:14 PM
Rule Question please d212 Racing 5 02-03-2007 10:59 AM
The Rule of 60 John Rousmaniere Her Sailnet Articles 0 08-08-2004 09:00 PM
New Handicap Rule paulk Racing 2 01-17-2003 03:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:01 AM.

Add to My Yahoo!         
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
(c) Marine.com LLC 2000-2012

The SailNet.com store is owned and operated by a company independent of the SailNet.com forum. You are now leaving the SailNet forum. Click OK to continue or Cancel to return to the SailNet forum.