Start rule question different fleets - SailNet Community

   Search Sailnet:

 forums  store  


Quick Menu
Forums           
Articles          
Galleries        
Boat Reviews  
Classifieds     
Search SailNet 
Boat Search (new)

Shop the
SailNet Store
Anchor Locker
Boatbuilding & Repair
Charts
Clothing
Electrical
Electronics
Engine
Hatches and Portlights
Interior And Galley
Maintenance
Marine Electronics
Navigation
Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here






Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Racing
 Not a Member? 


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11-24-2010
NotQuiteCapnRon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rivals, Kentucky
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 7
NotQuiteCapnRon is on a distinguished road
Start rule question different fleets

Windward start. Boat A is approximately 3 minutes late to the start line. Boat B is in the next fleet to start and within her 4 minute start sequence and making a research run at the line...Therefore both boats are racing by rule. Boat A (leeward) (both starboard) meets boat B near the starting line. Boat B forces boat A down the line and denies boat A ability to start, forcing boat B to jibe, tack, and alter course to cross start line. No other boats are involved or near. Is this within the rules of racing?

Just trying to learn.

Thanks

Last edited by NotQuiteCapnRon; 11-24-2010 at 10:41 PM. Reason: correction
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #2  
Old 11-24-2010
Classic30's Avatar
Once known as Hartley18
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4,564
Thanks: 33
Thanked 48 Times in 48 Posts
Rep Power: 9
Classic30 will become famous soon enough Classic30 will become famous soon enough
Good question..

Not sure what you mean by "forcing boat B to jibe, tack, and alter course to cross start line", but since Boat A has technically "started" (Boat A's start signal has gone), I'd say that, no, it's isn't within the rules of racing because boats that haven't started are not supposed to interfere with those that have... but I'd need to check that up.
__________________
-
"Honestly, I don't know why seamen persist in getting wrecked in some of the outlandish places they do, when they can do it in a nice place like Fiji." -- John Caldwell, "Desperate Voyage"
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #3  
Old 11-24-2010
NotQuiteCapnRon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rivals, Kentucky
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 7
NotQuiteCapnRon is on a distinguished road
I'll try to define...Boat B attempting to acquire knowledge for her start, rides boat A (keep in mind different fleets) up the line to the windward start mark, forcing Boat A to run away and come back up to wind astern of boat B to start cross the start line legally. Jibe away from the mark and then come back to tack behind and keep clear of boat B to get across the line. Hope that clears it up.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #4  
Old 11-25-2010
BubbleheadMd's Avatar
Chastened
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Edgewater/Annapolis
Posts: 2,921
Thanks: 1
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
Rep Power: 5
BubbleheadMd will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Yahoo to BubbleheadMd
You said: "Boat A (leeward) (both starboard) meets boat B near the starting line."

Then you said: "Boat B forces boat A down the line..."

Forget the racing rules, this is a violation of sailing rules/ROTR. Leeward boat (A) is privileged vessel, Boat B is the stand-on vessel.

If I were on Boat A, I would have called leeward, and requested that Boat B come up.

Also, even though Boat B is "in sequence" and therefore racing, if I were Boat B, I don't think I would have been such a jerk as to impede Boat A's late start.
__________________
S/V Old Shoes
1973 Pearson 30 #255
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #5  
Old 11-25-2010
US27inKS's Avatar
Midwest Puddle Pirate
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gardner, KS
Posts: 2,160
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 11
US27inKS has a spectacular aura about US27inKS has a spectacular aura about
Boat A should protest Boat B. Boat A was leeward and therefore has rights. Boat B needed to tack away or come up. Such a move should have cost Boat B a 720 or a DSQ.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
John USYacht 27 "Cora Lee"
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #6  
Old 11-25-2010
NotQuiteCapnRon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rivals, Kentucky
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 7
NotQuiteCapnRon is on a distinguished road
Thanks for your reply. A quick read this morning, and a look at the amount of rum left in the bottle on the kitchen counter leads me to apologize for explaining the scenario wrong.

Correcting myself: Both boats are on Port and B is riding A up to the mark not allowing A to start. I think that makes more sense and is actually what happened.

Sorry for the confusion.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #7  
Old 11-25-2010
tommays's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,269
Thanks: 1
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
Rep Power: 7
tommays will become famous soon enough
Not that simple IMHP boat A has no business being in the start area during a different divisions start
__________________
1970 Cal 29 Sea Fever

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1981 J24 Tangent 2930
Tommays
Northport NY


If a dirty bottom slows you down what do you think it does to your boat
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #8  
Old 11-25-2010
US27inKS's Avatar
Midwest Puddle Pirate
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gardner, KS
Posts: 2,160
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 11
US27inKS has a spectacular aura about US27inKS has a spectacular aura about
It actually made more sense before. If you were both on Port, you should have been going from the start pin to the committee boat (at least that's how we alway set it up). In either case this is not a Port/Starboard issue as both boats are on the same tack. This is a windward/leeward case and Boat B is wrong. Starboard trumps Port and Leeward trumps Windward. Boat A was leeward and had rights.

Just to be clear. In this scenario, was boat B running parallel to the line and boat A was close hauled trying to start? Then did Boat B cut off Boat A and force him down the line?? The only thing that could sway this in Boat B's favor is if Boat A could be seen as an overtaking vessel.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
John USYacht 27 "Cora Lee"
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #9  
Old 11-25-2010
US27inKS's Avatar
Midwest Puddle Pirate
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gardner, KS
Posts: 2,160
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 11
US27inKS has a spectacular aura about US27inKS has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommays View Post
Not that simple IMHP boat A has no business being in the start area during a different divisions start
While it's true that Boat A should have been long gone, Boat B should have given him room. That is, if I understand the scenario correctly. I don't believe there are any rules against starting 3 minutes late.

That being said, if I were 3 minutes late to the start there's no way I would be anywhere near a faster boat (faster boats usually start later, no?) while he's making his timing run.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
John USYacht 27 "Cora Lee"
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #10  
Old 11-25-2010
tommays's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,269
Thanks: 1
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
Rep Power: 7
tommays will become famous soon enough
If boat A is in a different divisions start they are already in the wrong and its tough luck if there 3 minutes late as we go every 5 and i NOW have only 2 minutes to start


When you have won a 10 race season by ONE SECOND and 1 point or the difference between 1st and 3rd is 14 seconds you will have limited tolerance who somebody who has already screwed up there race screwing up yours
__________________
1970 Cal 29 Sea Fever

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1981 J24 Tangent 2930
Tommays
Northport NY


If a dirty bottom slows you down what do you think it does to your boat
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by tommays; 11-25-2010 at 12:19 PM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

 
Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sinking of Rule 62 billyruffn General Discussion (sailing related) 635 04-07-2013 01:46 PM
Connecting with other "Slow Boat" Fleets, anywhere.. niko Racing 2 07-15-2009 03:14 PM
Rule Question please d212 Racing 5 02-03-2007 09:59 AM
The Rule of 60 John Rousmaniere Her Sailnet Articles 0 08-08-2004 08:00 PM
New Handicap Rule paulk Racing 2 01-17-2003 02:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:35 AM.

Add to My Yahoo!         
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
(c) Marine.com LLC 2000-2012

The SailNet.com store is owned and operated by a company independent of the SailNet.com forum. You are now leaving the SailNet forum. Click OK to continue or Cancel to return to the SailNet forum.