racing rules question narrow channel - Page 6 - SailNet Community
 11Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #51 of 54 Old 08-18-2012
Sailboat Reboot
 
svzephyr44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On Board
Posts: 589
Thanks: 3
Thanked 49 Times in 43 Posts
Rep Power: 15
 
Send a message via Skype™ to svzephyr44
Re: racing rules question narrow channel

Just as a aside I find Racing Rules of Sailing - Look to Windward a great site for racing rules discussions

CAPT Roger J. Jones USN (ret.)
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Sailboat Reboot

411 Walnut Street, #9700, Green Cove Springs, FL 32043-3443

Reboot's Agent's Email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Web Site:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Blogging:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Twitter @Sailboat_Reboot
svzephyr44 is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #52 of 54 Old 08-24-2012
Senior Member
 
paulk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: CT/ Long Island Sound
Posts: 2,602
Thanks: 4
Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 16
 
Re: racing rules question narrow channel

This rules discussion is intriguing for its lack of reference to any actual rules. What rule requires a boat to duck another, instead of tacking below them? This is apparently the rule that the "committee" is using to penalize Red, the Original Poster, advising him that he should not have tacked below Blue, but should have ducked him mid-channel. When Blue reaches out to leeward and pushes Red into the reeds, (even while Red is calling for obstruction room) isn't that a breech of rule 11? No one seems to be following (or mentioning) the actual rules here very much.

Based on the original post, it would appear that Red is entitled to obstruction room under rule 19.2.b: Red, to leeward of Blue, was almost touching the reeds. (Please note these are reeds - indicating unnavigable areas and thus an obstruction, not weeds like seaweed that grow in deep water which would be an annoyance, but not necessarily an obstruction. Some posters appear to be confused about this.) Did Blue not have steerage, and was therefore unable to provide room? In any case, rule 20 comes into play. Rule 20 says you have to hail for room, which Red did. Red then has to give Blue time to respond. (rule 20.1(b)). It seems Red did give Blue time to respond. Blue's response seems to have been to push Red into the obstruction. As mentioned above, this is a breech of rule 11. After being hailed, rule 20.1(b) requires Blue to either tack herself as soon as possible (to get out of the way) or to tell Red to tack and then stay out of Red's way. After Blue responds, Red has to tack as soon as possible (rule 20.1(c). If Blue doesn't respond quickly enough, rule 20.2 exonerates Red if she "breaks a rule of section A, or rule 15 or 16." This means that Red, coming up to an obstruction, can essentially hail for room and after waiting (a reasonable period, eh?) for a response, tack to avoid the obstruction, regardless of where Blue happens to be.
Red is entitled to avoid the obstruction, and can tack. If she is "tacking too close" - that is a Right of Way rule (rules 10, 11, 12, & 13) from Section A, and Red is exonerated; there is no penalty on Red. Rule 15 does not apply here, since Red was tacking onto Port. Rule 20.2 says that Red does not have to worry about giving Blue room to keep clear (rule 16) either; Red is exonerated because of her need to tack due to the obstruction. If Red HITS Blue when tacking to avoid the obstruction, rule 14 states that Red SHALL NOT be penalized unless there is contact that causes damage or injury. The light conditions suggest no damage, and the only injury appears to have been to Blue's pride.
All this makes me think that the rules may have changed a good deal since Blue sat on an actual Protest Committee. What was the actual outcome of the protest? The posts state that Red "shouldn't have tacked" mid-channel. Was he scored DSQ? Was the protest disallowed? Did the gentlemen sweep it under the rug with tacit nods & wags? What appears to be happening does not seem to be paying any attention to the rules. Read rules 2 and 69. I know of sailors who have been tossed from a series for swearing at fellow competitors. Ben Ainslie is a good example of what should happen when you lay hands on another's boat.
Sailormon6 and SVAuspicious like this.

Last edited by paulk; 08-24-2012 at 12:25 AM.
paulk is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #53 of 54 Old 04-01-2013 Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
 
Re: racing rules question narrow channel

The jury did nothing. Blue wasn't disqualified and I never went back. It was the last race I sailed with them.
bobbylockes is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #54 of 54 Old 06-29-2013
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: 06420
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 0
 
Re: racing rules question narrow channel

The best strategy would have been to duck if you couldn't cross. that would hav put him at the disadvantage at the next cross.

But, if you tacked & got down to close hauled _course_ while the other boat was clear astern, (providing, of course that you allowed him the opportunity to keep clear - e.g. your track was to leeward of his, not right on his bow) then you had the right to luff him up (again, allowing him the opportunity to keep clear)

If you hail for room to tack, the other boat has 2 options; tack immediately or respond "You Tack!" & give you room. Failing to do either is a foul and warrants DSQ.

It has nothing to do with your previous tack into a lee-bow or clear-ahead position. the protest is about rules, not good or bad strategy. You had every right to tack in mid-channel as long as he could keep clear and you don't foul him before getting down to close-hauled.

However if you tacked and _immediately had to hail for room to tack, well, that _is_ questionable and risky. However, I know of no rule that says how long you have to be on that tack to qualify for room to tack.

Assuming he was windward or astern, His putting hands on your boat was a subsequent foul and also warrants DSQ - or taking turns.

It is by Will Alone I Set My Ride In Motion.
Peter06420 is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the SailNet Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Please note: After entering 3 characters a list of Usernames already in use will appear and the list will disappear once a valid Username is entered.


User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Racing Rules Question waterlu Racing 7 06-15-2009 09:35 AM
New Racing Rules, now it's 3 boatlengths... nolatom Racing 1 01-29-2009 09:12 PM
racing rules interpretation rperret Racing 9 08-08-2007 07:46 PM
Understanding the Racing Rules Dan Dickison Her Sailnet Articles 0 02-10-2002 07:00 PM
The New Racing Rules Dobbs Davis Racing Articles 0 04-04-2001 08:00 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome