Rule 10 and rule 18? - Page 2 - SailNet Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #11 of 12 Old 08-24-2012
Senior Member
 
paulk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: CT/ Long Island Sound
Posts: 2,603
Thanks: 4
Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 16
 
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

Sometimes sailing by the lee is faster than ddw. It can create flow over the sail, which is better than having the air simply stall out and create turbulence when it hits a flat surface perpendicular to its direction. Catboats, with their big mains providing all the power, frequently end up sailing by the lee on purpose because of this, when the course is ddw. It's a little like sprit boats going 'way off on a reach instead of ddw, because it's faster for them to do it that way.

Last edited by paulk; 08-24-2012 at 10:15 PM.
paulk is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 12 Old 08-28-2012
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South Eastern Massachusetts
Posts: 113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 5
 
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

Boat B should have used its starboard tack status to its advantage earlier (before the zone) or jibed and used its leeward status to its advantage earlier. Once in the zone, the inside boat gets mark room:

Quote:
18 MARK-ROOM
18.1 When Rule 18 Applies
Rule 18 applies between boats when they are required to leave a mark on the same side and at least one of them is in the zone. However, it does not apply
(a) between boats on opposite tacks on a beat to windward,
(b) between boats on opposite tacks when the proper course at the mark for one but not both of them is to tack,
(c) between a boat approaching a mark and one leaving it, or
(d) if the mark is a continuing obstruction, in which case rule 19 applies.
18.2 Giving Mark-Room
(a) When boats are overlapped the outside boat shall give the inside boat mark-room, unless rule 18.2(b) applies.
(b) If boats are overlapped when the first of them reaches the zone, the outside boat at that moment shall thereafter give the inside boat mark-room. If a boat is clear ahead when she reaches the zone, the boat clear astern at that moment shall thereafter give her mark-room.
(c) When a boat is required to give mark-room by rule 18.2(b), she shall continue to do so even if later an overlap is broken or a new overlap begins. However, if the boat entitled to mark-room passes head to wind or leaves the zone, rule 18.2(b) ceases to apply.
(d) If there is reasonable doubt that a boat obtained or broke an overlap in time, it shall be presumed that she did not.
(e) If a boat obtained an inside overlap from clear astern and, from the time the overlap began, the outside boat has been unable to give mark-room, she is not required to give it.
MITBeta is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the SailNet Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Please note: After entering 3 characters a list of Usernames already in use will appear and the list will disappear once a valid Username is entered.


User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sinking of Rule 62 billyruffn General Discussion (sailing related) 635 04-07-2013 01:46 PM
Gaffers rule Capt Len Introduce Yourself 2 10-14-2011 12:34 PM
New Moderation Rule Cruisingdad General Discussion (sailing related) 43 05-24-2011 05:38 PM
The Rule of 60 John Rousmaniere Her Sailnet Articles 0 08-08-2004 08:00 PM
New Handicap Rule paulk Racing 2 01-17-2003 02:07 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome