Rule 10 and rule 18? - SailNet Community

   Search Sailnet:

 forums  store  


Quick Menu
Forums           
Articles          
Galleries        
Boat Reviews  
Classifieds     
Search SailNet 
Boat Search (new)

Shop the
SailNet Store
Anchor Locker
Boatbuilding & Repair
Charts
Clothing
Electrical
Electronics
Engine
Hatches and Portlights
Interior And Galley
Maintenance
Marine Electronics
Navigation
Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here






Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Racing
 Not a Member? 


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-22-2012
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
JohnnyJupiter is on a distinguished road
Rule 10 and rule 18?

Situation: Two Beetlecats approaching the leeward mark, both running by the lee. The mark will be taken to port. Inside the zone, boat A is on port tack and is the inside boat with an overlap on boat B. Boat B is on starboard tack. Boat B (outside boat) calls "Starboard!" and bumps into boat A; B's port rail hits A's starboard rail, a light tap/rub, no damage, no change of course by either boat.

Question: Which rule 'trumps'? Rule 10 says boat B (outside boat) has rights because B is on starboard. Rule 18 says boat A (inside overlapped boat) must be given mark room. As I understand from reading the rules, rule 18 applies because there is an overlap in the zone and therefore the outside boat must give the inside boat mark room.

I've attached a drawing, there's actually a third boat (boat C) inside of both A and B.

Thanks for helping a newbie racer trying to understand the rules! I'd be glad to provide any other useful information.

Fair winds.
Attached Images
File Type: bmp Leeward mark incident Aug 2012.bmp (31.9 KB, 58 views)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
  #2  
Old 08-22-2012
CalebD's Avatar
Tartan 27' owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 4,608
Thanks: 4
Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts
Rep Power: 7
CalebD will become famous soon enough
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

Welcome to SailNut JJ.

While I do race I'm not a rule maven.
I would think that while there is an overlap at a mark that rule 18 is the rule to follow.
I've been wrong about the racing rules before though.
See how you do with this online quiz: Regelspiel Uli Finckh
__________________
"The cure for anything is salt water~ sweat, tears, or the sea." ~Isak Denesen

Everybody has one:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
  #3  
Old 08-22-2012
msmith10's Avatar
Junior member, rest old
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 492
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 6
msmith10 is on a distinguished road
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

I think Caleb is right. Overlap established, A must be given room. If A tried to force B away from the mark then I think B would have an argument but if B is pressing the issue, then I think the overlap rule would prevail.
__________________
Mark Smith
1977 C&C 30 Mk 1 hailing from Port Clinton, Ohio
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
  #4  
Old 08-22-2012
johnnyquest37's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 396
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 3
johnnyquest37 is on a distinguished road
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

Neither am I an expert, but it seems to me that Boat B broke rule 18 and rule 14.
__________________
[/B]S/V Wind Orchid
Catalina 350 (hull# 273)
Annapolis, MD

LET'S GET SERIOUS ABOUT REMOVING POLITCAL TAG LINES -- NOW!

Last edited by johnnyquest37; 08-28-2012 at 04:08 PM. Reason: Meant to say Boat B, not Boat A
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
  #5  
Old 08-22-2012
paulk's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: CT/ Long Island Sound
Posts: 2,545
Thanks: 4
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Rep Power: 15
paulk is on a distinguished road
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

Boat A - the inside boat which had an overlap at entering the 3-boatlength zone IS entitled to room at the mark, regardless of their being on port tack. Even though they're on starboard, Boat B, the outside boat, is required by rule 18 to provide sufficient room for A to round the mark in a seamanlike manner under the prevailing conditions. (I think this wording comes from an appeal I read somewhere. Boat A might need more room in 15' seas than in smooth water, for example.) As stated in Section A of the rules, some rules in sections B, C, and D limit the actions of a right-of-way boat. This is one of those situations: rule 18 is in section B. Note how rule 18 applies going downwind, but does NOT apply going upwind. You can't sneak in on Port tack at the windward mark and call for room. In this situation they're not beating. Boat B, broke rule 18 by not providing room, and also rule 14 by hitting boat A. They should have done a bunch of penalty turns (four, perhaps?) before continuing their race, or should have withdrawn.

Last edited by paulk; 08-22-2012 at 11:49 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
  #6  
Old 08-23-2012
CalebD's Avatar
Tartan 27' owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 4,608
Thanks: 4
Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts
Rep Power: 7
CalebD will become famous soon enough
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

Thanks PaulK for your erudite rounding up of the rules.
Is it any wonder that so many allow their eyes to glaze over once they have heard about rules 10 & 18?
I should have done at least 1 360 degree turn tonight in our race. I'll see how it goes.
__________________
"The cure for anything is salt water~ sweat, tears, or the sea." ~Isak Denesen

Everybody has one:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
  #7  
Old 08-23-2012
zz4gta's Avatar
I don't discuss my member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 2,450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Rep Power: 8
zz4gta is on a distinguished road
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

C gets room, A gets room, B gets pinwheeled on the outside and screwed on the next upwind leg. (you get room ONLY if there's overlap at the 3 boat circle).

B has broken rule 18 and 14.
__________________
Merit 25 # 764 "Audrey"
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
  #8  
Old 08-23-2012
zz4gta's Avatar
I don't discuss my member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 2,450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Rep Power: 8
zz4gta is on a distinguished road
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

More importantly, why are cats sailing DDW anyway? Or even close to it? That can't be fast at all.
__________________
Merit 25 # 764 "Audrey"
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
  #9  
Old 08-24-2012
paulk's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: CT/ Long Island Sound
Posts: 2,545
Thanks: 4
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Rep Power: 15
paulk is on a distinguished road
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zz4gta View Post
More importantly, why are cats sailing DDW anyway? Or even close to it? That can't be fast at all.
I'm sure that if you want to volunteer for the Race Committee, they'll be happy to let you run the next race. Remember these are Catboats, not Catamarans.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
  #10  
Old 08-24-2012
zz4gta's Avatar
I don't discuss my member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 2,450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Rep Power: 8
zz4gta is on a distinguished road
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

ah, my mistake. I saw cat and assumed there were 2 hulls. oops.

I have volunteered as RC, but what does that have to do with boats not sailing their polars?
__________________
Merit 25 # 764 "Audrey"
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

By choosing to post the reply above you agree to the rules you agreed to when joining Sailnet.
Click Here to view those rules.

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the SailNet Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Please note: After entering 3 characters a list of Usernames already in use will appear and the list will disappear once a valid Username is entered.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

 
Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sinking of Rule 62 billyruffn General Discussion (sailing related) 635 04-07-2013 02:46 PM
Gaffers rule Capt Len Introduce Yourself 2 10-14-2011 01:34 PM
New Moderation Rule Cruisingdad General Discussion (sailing related) 43 05-24-2011 06:38 PM
The Rule of 60 John Rousmaniere Her Sailnet Articles 0 08-08-2004 09:00 PM
New Handicap Rule paulk Racing 2 01-17-2003 03:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:55 PM.

Add to My Yahoo!         
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
(c) Marine.com LLC 2000-2012

The SailNet.com store is owned and operated by a company independent of the SailNet.com forum. You are now leaving the SailNet forum. Click OK to continue or Cancel to return to the SailNet forum.