Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Boat Builders Row > S2
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2006

Cadence10m is on a distinguished road
S2-11 for blue water?

Hi,

I'm looking for a boat to take me from Seattle to Mexcio and back, and up the coast of BC to Alaska.

I've heard very good things about S2's but I have no personal experience with them.

- Are they suitable for that plan, including the "uphill" run from Mexico back to Seattle?
- Have people cruised extensively in unprotected waters with them?
- Any ocean crossings? (not in my plans, but useful info anyway)
- Is the hull/deck joint thru-bolted?
- How's the construction strength and quality compare to 70's & 80's Pearsons (which I am familiar with).

Thanks for any help.

Craig
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-04-2006
ASA and PSIA Instructor

sailingfool will become famous soon enough
S-2s are well made coastal cruisers as are Pearsons, and I would say both are comparable for consturction with S-2 having better finishing. My last purchase was almost a S-2 10.3 and I've always lusted for a 9.1. However, these boats like most Pearsons were not designed for offshore use. You can roll the dice and try taking one anywhere and its likely to get your there, but how gracefully, certainly or comfortably is a different question.

I always offer the story http://www.equipped.com/0698rescue.htm as demonstrating how a boat that may be capable of offshore sailing may not be suitable. Now some Catalina owners reading that article come back and say, well the owner didn't prep enough, he missed a recall, he this-or-that. The truth is that boats designed to be compentent coastal cruisers are not suitable for offshore use.

Last edited by sailingfool; 11-04-2006 at 12:48 PM.
Old 11-06-2006
Sailmanles

longwaterline is on a distinguished road