Might buy a Saber 34' - SailNet Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 02-17-2015 Thread Starter

Might buy a Saber 34'

I've just found out that a Saber 34 is available in my area for under 10K. I'll be getting more info tomorrow and possibly looking at it this weekend. If so, is there anything other than the mast step and the head/shower bulkhead that I'll need to pay extra attention to?

Please keep in mind that I've never owned a sailboat so this will be a completely new experience for me. In short, use small words, talk/type slow, pictures help... =)

I'm excited that I may join the sailboat club much sooner than I expected but don't want to miss the obvious problems because I'm a novice.

After I look at it, probably with a friend who has some experience and has owned several boats, I will get the survey if it looks like a good deal. As I understand it, the boat has been out every season, fresh water in the Great Lakes and is on the market because they are getting too old for it. Apparently, it's hard for them to even go below on it anymore.

I have no idea what sails, equipment, extras the boat will come with at this time. I'll post more once I've had a look.

Thank you for all input.

Dos
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 02-17-2015
Old enough to know better

Re: Might buy a Saber 34'

Any Saber 34 for under 10K will require a lot of work to bring it back to snuff. That said they are beautiful boats, well made and you seem to know the big issue, the bulkhead/mast step. Decks are also an issue if any soft spots. From my experience boats owned by people too old to boat anymore often have a lot of deferred maintenance. Much due to a lack of being able to do what they used to, and some to the fact that they may not be able to see it.