Dudley Dix / Didi 26 - SailNet Community
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 08-20-2015 Thread Starter

Dudley Dix / Didi 26

After 8 years of serious (& fun) consideration, I have finally set my heart on the boat I wish to build.

The Didi 26

A few years ago, I was interested in the Van de Stadt 34 (VDS34), then just last year, Sam Devlins' Soooty Tern, and finally, Dudley Dix's DD26

I received the plans yesterday, and I could not be more thrilled!
The actual build will not take place for years yet though, but what will happen is the distinct pleasure in planning this build out, right from the start, in a relaxed, enjoyable state-of-affairs. We are currently circumnavigating on our N62, and have our hands full with that. The DD26 plans will keep my powder dry while I'm at work, and remind me I have some sailing days ahead of me when our Voyage has come to it's natural end.

I have never built anything before, but the desire to build one's own boat, and then sail it, has become an obsession for me,, & yes I know I need mental help.

Perhaps some sailing folk out there would like to discuss the boat or the future build? Cheers.
christian.hess likes this.

Andy & Julie Nemier ∞

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 08-20-2015
grumpy old man

Re: Dudley Dix / Didi 26

Very good choice. Dudley is a friend of mine. I'm pretty it was me who gave him the nickname Didi.

Please visit my blog. It's fun to read.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Bob's Blog ....

Please also visit my new web site
post #3 of 20 Old 08-20-2015 Thread Starter

Hi Bob,
Great to see you here! I thought the "Didi" was/is a brilliant suggestion (Dudley Dix = DD = Didi) I thought it was clever.
Mind you, it doesn't really take much to impress me.