Potential for Building a Wooden Schooner - SailNet Community
 12Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 32 Old 12-20-2016 Thread Starter

Potential for Building a Wooden Schooner

Hey everyone,

I currently work as a shipwright and, while I've only been in this field for a few years, I'm leaning more and more to building my own wood cruising sailboat, rather then buying one. I'm fairly decided on building it myself, but the purpose of this post is more leaning towards style.

I would like to build a gaff-rigged schooner. Also, I would like to take inspiration for its hull shape off Bob Perry's Baba 40. If you see this post, Bob, I'd particularly like your input.

Do you all think that the hull shape of the Baba would not only lend itself to wood construction, but also become a lovely gaff-rigged schooner?
Attached Thumbnails
baba40cutter.jpg   Schooner Rig.jpg  
Arcb likes this.
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 Old 12-20-2016
Barquito

Re: Potential for Building a Wooden Schooner

Hmmm....beautiful.

Minnesail likes this.

Valiant 32
post #3 of 32 Old 12-20-2016 Thread Starter

haha, I was thinking more of this, lol.

I think it looks rather beautiful. Now, obviously I would have to adjust things somewhat to accommodate the rig, but in general, It's quite lovely.

This is just a melding of some plans I got off google that I reworked in Paint. Nothing special, but it gets the idea across.
Attached Thumbnails
Baba Schooner.jpg  

post #4 of 32 Old 12-20-2016

A schooner is a great idea, they're quite handy and fairly common on the coast of Maine.

Bob's Baba is a great boat but not really designed to be built of wood(cold moulding maybe?).

Why combine the two? If you're going to build in wood (which is also quite common around here, even today), why not choose an existing schooner design? There are some wonderful plans that were drawn with the intention of building in wood.