Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Boat Review and Purchase Forum > Sailboat Design and Construction
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-05-2008

HamptonMorgan22 is on a distinguished road
self kick up rudder

Is there such thing? Forgive my ignorance I am new to sailing. I have a transom mounted rudder pintle gudgeon attachment. I can find info, and Im sure i could modify mine to kick up manually, but is there such rudder or hardware to make one that would kick up with the force of hitting something? I dock my boat at a real shallow dock and would love the security of something like that, rather then having to take it off before approach to my dock, and its a 22ft boat, i have found some for small dingies and cats and stuff, but nothing for larger. I was hoping there was something like that out there. Hopefully hardware I love the way my rudder works hate to screw it up, and I really hate to try to put my math skills to work trying to figure out how to make one that will hold up to the forces of sailing but kick up on the force of impact. thanks
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-05-2008

chucklesR is a jewel in the rough chucklesR is a jewel in the rough chucklesR is a jewel in the rough
My buddies 22 ft catalina, 1976 had a kick up rudder. Sure they make them. Google it up and the search is on
Old 05-05-2008
twcook