Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum > Sailboat Design and Construction
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-17-2009

n0w0rries is on a distinguished road
Improving my 9' Sailing Dinghy

I'm a long time power boater... new to sail. Eventually I want to get a 30' sailboat for coastal cruising/weekending at catalina (i'm in southern california).

Anyhow, I just bought an old sailing dinghy. It's 9' long, has a lee-board, and a mainsail. The mast is all the way forward. Unfortunately when I launched, the wind and tide were against me. But I wanted a shakedown of the new boat. Besides finding out one of the oars was rotten (broke it in half on the first stroke) and learning the dangers of a lee shore, I've got a list of improvements I want to make. I was wondering if anybody might have some input on a few areas as I'm new to sailing.

1) The sail slips on the mast (ie there is a pocket for the mast in the sail). I'd like a way to raise and lower the sail. The mast is fiberglass or something similar. Is it just as easy as rigging a line to go through the pocket in the sail and attach at the top, or is it even doable? I know I looked like a lubber the last time I launched, so I'd rather not raise my sail and then have the line cut it like butter or something.

2) Add another hinge in the tiller so I can make it shorter

3) I was kinda thinking bowsprit so I could put a jib on it... but it would probably be too much for the dinghy.

Any thoughts on the best way to achieve #1?

No Worries
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-17-2009
Tartan 27' owner

CalebD will become famous soon enough
Welcome to the wonderful world of 'blow boating' (aka, sailing).