SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   SailNet FAQ (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/sailnet-faq/)
-   -   Which Boat to Buy (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/sailnet-faq/60240-boat-buy.html)

brob76 12-01-2009 05:00 PM

Which Boat to Buy

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to sailing and new to the forum so please forgive me if my question seems obtuse. I know this type of question has been asked many times in many ambiguous ways so I'll try to be as specific as possible.

I've been restoring and sailing a Pearson 26 for the last few years and I think I'm ready to move up now. I would like to attempt an ocean crossing in the next few years and possibly a circumnavigation eventually so I'd like to find a solid, versatile and seaworthy boat in the 28'-32' range. I really want versatility; something I can cross and ocean with or take out for a leisurely day sail. Budget is flexible (realistically in the ~$20K to $25K range) but I would rather find something inexpensive that needs a bit of refitting. I would ideally like to find something in the $10K and spend the rest of the budget making it my own.

This is my short list (order intended):
Pearson Triton
Alberg 30
Allied Seawind II
Southern Cross 31
Pearson Vanguard

I've researched each of these quite a bit and I'm leaning toward the Triton or Alberg 30 for their simplicity, seaworthiness and low initial investment. The Seawind and Southern Cross also look very attractive due to their larger accommodations but also carry a higher price tag. I'm really looking for personal anecdotes/experiences with each of these boats with regards to comfort on an extended cruise such as an ocean crossing, "bang for the buck" etc. Also wondering if the extra 2' LOA of the Alberg 30 makes enough of a difference in comfort to spend the extra $$ compared to the Triton.

Thanks for your help in advance....Cheers!

Brian

smackdaddy 12-01-2009 05:06 PM