Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > SailNet FAQ
 Not a Member? 

SailNet FAQ This forum is specifically on the Sailnet Website and how to do certain things on the website. Please note - any other threads will be deleted.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2010

Liefie is on a distinguished road
C&C 30' - good for a beginner?

I'm new to sailing, just learning the basics and having fun with a local sailing club. I'm in the market for my first boat and am seriously considering a 1978 C&C 30'. I live in Oregon, will primarily be learning on the Columbia river, but would love to take some trips from Astoria to the Vancouver Islands as I gain experience and confidence.

Also, I'd like a boat I can single handle because my boyfriend just isn't as enthusiastic as I am and I know there will be days I can't find crew. Any and all advice is welcome.

I forgot to mention, I'm very excited to learn how to race. That's why the C&C is so attractive to me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 03-01-2010
ASA and PSIA Instructor

sailingfool will become famous soon enough
I owned a '76 C&C 30 back when it was not quite still new and I think the model is a wonderful design, and an excellent boat. It sails well in all conditions, Ok in light air but outstanding in stronger winds. Many C&C buffs consider the 30 mark I the stiffest boat C&C ever designed. A great all around PHRF boat, yet a good cruiser. If you get a good one, you wil never be disappointed about your choice...after many other boats and 30 years I'd be happy to buy mine back.
Old 03-01-2010

olgriz is on a distinguished road
Do it! First I'd suggest that you continue your sailing lessons, even getting an instructor to take you out on your boat. It's not too much especially with the trips you'd like to take. You'll love it! My first boat was an Islander 28 and I had a great time on it.