Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > SailNet FAQ
 Not a Member? 

SailNet FAQ This forum is specifically on the Sailnet Website and how to do certain things on the website. Please note - any other threads will be deleted.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2011

swe936 is on a distinguished road
sailing Newport to Annapolis routes

Hi all. I am new to SailNet and looking forward to getting into it. I am the new owner of a Beneteau First 40.7 that is currently in Newport RI. Once the survey is completed I am having the hull repainted and then will bring her home to Annapolis. I plan on doing the trip sometime in April. Any advise as to the best routes to take for the delivery would be appreciated. I have no desire to kill myself getting here, so will be looking to find harbors at night. Any insight is appreciated.

Steve
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 01-15-2011

HUGOSALT is on a distinguished road
Welcome to sailnet, congrats on new boat!
April can be raw month in the northeast, pick your days
From Newport you want inside route, that is Long Island Sound in which there will be many good protected bays
on both Ct and Long Island side(eastern LI side not so many)LI side...Mattituck (better enter daytime 1st time)
Port Jefferson, Huntington Bay, Oyster Bay, Manhasset Bay...safe protected harbors, can anchor or marina in all
above.
CT, side...Ct River (check spring river conditions), Branford (not at night 1st time), Blackrock,
Mamaroneck Harbor, City Island plus many others.
On the whole LI side usually easier landfall depending on wind, as all approaches are bays except for Mattituck
which is a inlet. I'm sure there are differing opinions.
Stage for entrance to East River either in protected Manhasset Bay, City Island(less protected if anchoring)