SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Sailing East Coast to West Coast

30K views 24 replies 14 participants last post by  capta 
#1 ·
I am looking into purchasing a blue water cruising boat to do some cruising after 1-2 years of working on her, and gaining some more sailing experience on a cruising boat. I have plenty of experience on smaller racing dinghies and a bareboat charter license. My question is that given I'm seeing more availability of the type of boat I am looking for on the East Coast (I am currently in Seattle), what is the feasibility of sailing a purchased boat in good condition from the East Coast to the West Coast? How difficult is such a sail and how long would it take?

Any input would be appreciated.

#2 ·
The trip to Panama may be pretty straight forward. From there the best route is to Hawaii and then to Seattle. Check Jimmy Cornell's World Cruising Routes for timing.

#3 ·
I read a short bit by someone who followed the advice of Brent Swain - the one from Vanc. Island who builds steel boats.

What he said was to go about 1000 miles out. Apparently then you have a reach all the way back to Vancouver (or Seattle obviously). I've heard or read some confirmations of it as well. It's probably worth checking out since I've heard coming back from Hawaii can be a bash unless you start northwest and go up & around the Pacific High.

#5 ·
Sounds like the scenic route has a lot of merit if comfortable cruising is the plan. Brent is the deepest of the deep blue sailors around here but he hasn't had to contend with the flotsam coming from Japan lately. That would make me nervous sailing over the Pacific High, unless I had a bullet proof hull like Brent's.Besides, leaving the best till last give you something to look forward to.

#6 ·