Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > SailNet FAQ
 Not a Member? 

SailNet FAQ This forum is specifically on the Sailnet Website and how to do certain things on the website. Please note - any other threads will be deleted.

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2011

olli is on a distinguished road
Sailing East Coast to West Coast

I am looking into purchasing a blue water cruising boat to do some cruising after 1-2 years of working on her, and gaining some more sailing experience on a cruising boat. I have plenty of experience on smaller racing dinghies and a bareboat charter license. My question is that given I'm seeing more availability of the type of boat I am looking for on the East Coast (I am currently in Seattle), what is the feasibility of sailing a purchased boat in good condition from the East Coast to the West Coast? How difficult is such a sail and how long would it take?

Any input would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 11-10-2011

jackdale will become famous soon enough
The trip to Panama may be pretty straight forward. From there the best route is to Hawaii and then to Seattle. Check Jimmy Cornell's World Cruising Routes for timing.
IYT Yachtmaster Coastal Instructor
ASA 201, 203, 204, 205, 206, 214
As I sail, I praise God, and care not. (Luke Foxe)
Old 11-10-2011
Senior Moment Member

SloopJonB will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackdale View Post
The trip to Panama may be pretty straight forward. From there the best route is to Hawaii and then to Seattle. Check Jimmy Cornell's World Cruising Routes for timing.
I read a short bit by someone who followed the advice of Brent Swain - the one from Vanc. Island who builds steel boats.