SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   SailNet FAQ (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/sailnet-faq/)
-   -   San Diego or Huntington/Newport (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/sailnet-faq/86390-san-diego-huntington-newport.html)

Coldduck101 04-18-2012 05:52 PM

San Diego or Huntington/Newport

Greetings from the newbie - I am just getting started with my ocean sailing experience and have a question for those in Southern Cal. I have the opportunity to live almost anywhere I choose so I would like some feedback on the best home port area for a beginner. On the social end I prefer a large enough metro for the land life portions of the day - but wanted to know the consensus - better to learn in the San Diego Harbor/Bay area that is somewhat protected but offers few destinations outside the harbor - or north in the Huntington/Newport area with the islands, bays and multiple close by ports ? Thanks -

MarcHall 04-18-2012 06:27 PM

Re: San Diego or Huntington/Newport

I would rather live in San Diego and that outweighs the rest of it.

I have lived in Orange County and kept the boat in both Long Beach and
Marina del Rey but I much prefer to live in San Diego.

That said I could see moving the boat the back up to Long Beach or San Pedro so that Catalina becomes something like a 3 to 4 hour trip rather then a 12+ hour motor from San Diego.

Regards
Marc Hall
Crazy Fish, Crealock 37, Hull 207

poopdeckpappy 04-18-2012 08:30 PM

SD would be my suggestion also, good place to start ,you'll get a good range of sailing condition both inside and outside the protection of the bay. The last couple weeks have been great storm sailing conditions.

Once you have some capital in the bag you can go where you please.

tomperanteau 04-18-2012 10:48 PM

Also keep in mind that the Long Beach/San Pedro areas are among the least expensive to rent slips in. San Diego is more expensive. If money is a factor, then consider it.