Search Sailnet:

 forums  store  


Quick Menu
Forums           
Articles          
Galleries        
Boat Reviews  
Classifieds     
Search SailNet 
Boat Search (new)

Shop the
SailNet Store
Anchor Locker
Boatbuilding & Repair
Charts
Clothing
Electrical
Electronics
Engine
Hatches and Portlights
Interior And Galley
Maintenance
Marine Electronics
Navigation
Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items









Go Back   SailNet Community > SailNet Website Usage > SailNet Website Technical Support
 Not a Member? 


SailNet Website Technical Support Post your questions here on our new website features.


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2010
JimMcGee's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 657
Rep Power: 7
JimMcGee is on a distinguished road
WTF! - Adware blocking Sailnet, DO NOT CLICK

An ad just blocked me from Sailnet unless I gave my personal info.

I understand the site has to make money to stay open, but I think you're making some questionable choices if you're running this kind of advertising.

The "You're a winner" ads referenced on another thread in this forum have been around forever and have a reputation for downloading adware if you click on them. Not to mention that they're annoying as hell visually.

Now today I try and visit sailnet and the following full page ad appears

When I try and navigate away from the page I get

I try to refresh the page and it won't let me into Sailnet unless I choose a game and complete a survey. So I block the site in the Explorer security window, close the browser and try again. This time I get Sailnet.

A Google on cpalead.com turns up several sites like this one that warn that clicking on a cpalead survey collects personal information and loads adware onto your computer.
http://stopmalvertising.com/spam-sca...rk-marketplace

I really enjoy Sailnet, but I've already stopped accessing Sailnet from work (I used to read during lunch). The last thing I need to explain is an infected computer at a client. Now I'm wondering if I should give up on Sailnet completely.

I'm CC'ing the Administrator and the Mods on this.

Jim
__________________
95 C30 Island Time

‘Not all who wander are lost.' ~ JRR Tolkien

Last edited by JimMcGee; 10-05-2010 at 01:14 PM.
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2010
JohnRPollard's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chesapeake
Posts: 5,677
Rep Power: 8
JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough
Jim,

Sorry about that.

Not sure why you're seeing this. I have never seen any of these, nor the "you're a winner" windows. I am not running any special ad-blocks, either.

I'll send a note to admin and ask them to take a look.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Pacific Seacraft Crealock 31 #62

NEVER CALLS CRUISINGDAD BACK....CAN"T TAKE THE ACCENT
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2010
JimMcGee's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 657
Rep Power: 7
JimMcGee is on a distinguished road
John,
If people start getting infected it will kill Sailnet. I really don't want to see that happen.

Jim
__________________
95 C30 Island Time

‘Not all who wander are lost.' ~ JRR Tolkien
Sponsored Links
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2010
therapy23's Avatar
Back to just the Jon boat
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 768
Rep Power: 5
therapy23 is on a distinguished road
The last few days I have heard "you're a winner" but have not seen any windows pop up. My blocker is on high though. But popups are allowed by sailnet.com.

I really don't understand this stuff much though.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2010
NON member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 532
Rep Power: 4
AE28 is on a distinguished road
I'm getting the "security check" also:
http://www.cpalead.com/mygateway/myg...ateid=MTM3OTEz
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2010
administrator's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: maryland
Posts: 1,777
Rep Power: 10
administrator has disabled reputation
Jim - are you sure this ad came from SailNet?

we do not serve anything that looks like that. Were you on another site before clicking through to sailnet?

I use sailnet all day long and have not seen any ad that looked like the one your posted.

any information would be helpful.

Jeff

Last edited by administrator; 10-05-2010 at 02:17 PM.
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2010
JimMcGee's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 657
Rep Power: 7
JimMcGee is on a distinguished road
Jeff & John,

Thanks guys,
Jim
__________________
95 C30 Island Time

‘Not all who wander are lost.' ~ JRR Tolkien
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2010
deniseO30's Avatar
Lies about her age
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bristol pa
Posts: 3,640
Rep Power: 7
deniseO30 will become famous soon enough deniseO30 will become famous soon enough
what every yall do... don't click on "click on this" pop ups. you'll be sorrrrrrweeeee.. I did.. had to get another hard drive
__________________
Denise, Bristol PA, Oday 30. On Tidal Delaware River, Anchor Yacht Club.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2010
JimMcGee's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 657
Rep Power: 7
JimMcGee is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by administrator View Post
Jim - are you sure this ad came from SailNet?

we do not serve anything that looks like that. Were you on another site before clicking through to sailnet?

I use sailnet all day long and have not seen any ad that looked like the one your posted.

any information would be helpful.

Jeff
Jeff,
Yep, DEFINITELY SAILNET. I'd just opened a new browser window and sailnet was my first stop.

I did screen captures of both messages. Here's the full URL of the screen that popped up:
http://www.cpalead.com/mygateway/myg...ateid=MTM3OTEz

I figured you might need this info to track down the offending ad. I wish I had more info for you.

Also FWIW, the documentation I found for this adware company indicates it usually sits in front of a content site to collect information before it allows people to view the site.

DAMN!, I just opened Sailnet in another browser window to get the name of another poster who'd gotten this popup and it came up again -- even though I have Explorer set to block content from cpalead.com.

Jim
__________________
95 C30 Island Time

‘Not all who wander are lost.' ~ JRR Tolkien
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2010
SEMIJim's Avatar
Last Grumpy Old Sailor
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: S.E. Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,593
Rep Power: 6
SEMIJim will become famous soon enough SEMIJim will become famous soon enough
1. Run Firefox, rather than IE
2. Install Adblock Plus
3. Subscribe to the appropriate advert-blocking subscription

Life will be much less stressful

Jim
__________________
s/v Abracadabra
1976 Pearson P30
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suggestion box -- ads blocking botton choices Bene505 Announcements and Suggestions Box 5 08-15-2010 07:42 AM
it only took one click! deniseO30 Off Topic 2 12-23-2009 12:31 PM
Windlass Just Goes *Click* Bene505 Gear & Maintenance 7 07-11-2009 01:28 AM
Sailboat Blocking I-85 - WRAL.com NewsReader News Feeds 0 05-27-2007 05:15 PM
Jacking up/blocking Catalina 22 texfar Gear & Maintenance 0 07-24-2002 04:24 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:35 PM.

Add to My Yahoo!         
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
(c) Marine.com LLC 2000-2012