Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Seamanship & Navigation
 Not a Member? 

Seamanship & Navigation Forum devoted to seamanship and navigation topics, including paper and electronic charting tools.

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-21-2013

Grampian1989 is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Any Advice for sailing Kingston, NY to NYC??

I am new to sailing, I own a Grampian 30 with a 3 cylinder universal motor, 150 genoa... I would like to end the season by sailing to NYC for a night or two and then sail back up to Kingston, NY. I haven't been that far south and i would like any advice i can get to avoid sticky situations or at least be aware of them. Any advice on good anchorages would be very useful!!

My plan is to sail down and anchor "near" the statue of liberty for a night than take the 2 day sail back to kingston....
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-21-2013

justified is on a distinguished road
Re: Any Advice for sailing Kingston, NY to NYC??

Grampian1989
It looks like there are only two anchorages - Check active captain for location and info. one is north of Ellis Island the other is SW of the Statue of Liberty. One thing I can tell you is stay well clear of the security zones around Liberty and Ellis...... they can get a little testy and will let you know CLEARLY if you are to close. Yes I found out.
Enjoy your trip to the city I love being in that harbor there is no better way to see NCY but from the helm of your sailboat.
Fair winds
Peter
Old 08-21-2013
Tartan 27' owner

CalebD will become famous soon enough

Two days to transit from Kingston -> NYC is pretty ambitious. Expect to be motoring a lot.