Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Seamanship & Navigation
 Not a Member? 

Seamanship & Navigation Forum devoted to seamanship and navigation topics, including paper and electronic charting tools.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-05-2013

lastmate38 is on a distinguished road
sailboats tied to Buoys

I'm new to sailing - I mean very new. I've seen sailboats tied to floating buoys in harbors and was wondering if the owners rent those buoys, do they own them, what? Also, those sailboats that are not tied up to a dock, just being anchored off shore, does it cost anything to do that? Do people or some sort of business own the rights in these harbors or is it anchor at your own risk? I saw a couple tie off a large looking propane tank painted red with a number on it, with a large weight on a chain to hold it in place on the bottom of the harbor, then they tied their sailboat to it and used a smaller inflatable row boat to get back to shore. It all looked rather home made. Any restrictions to doing this kind of thing?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-05-2013

justflie is on a distinguished road
Re: sailboats tied to Buoys

I'm pretty new too, but I'll try to help. The buoys you're seeing are called moorings. Some are private, some are public. Some are free, some require a reservation, some require a fee on a monthly or seasonal basis. Some moorings are public and are owned by the town. Others are owned by individuals or marinas. Just like plenty of things in life, the answer is, "it depends." I don't know anything about the homemade variety and restrictions relating thereto.