Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Seamanship & Navigation
 Not a Member? 

Seamanship & Navigation Forum devoted to seamanship and navigation topics, including paper and electronic charting tools.

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2014

Dave_E is on a distinguished road
Variation question for chart navigators

Hi All,

Something I've wrestled with for a long time... the annual increase/decrease of variation and how it applies to my chart work.

I'm studying the book "Inland and Coastal Navigation, 2nd edition" and it says "The additional note telling how it changes with time, such as annual decrease 6', is usually of little practical interest".

Would I get terribly chastised for not taking into account that bit of information on a 3 year old chart (or admitting to not doing so)? Thoughts on the subject?

Dave
Allmand Sail 31 #15 "Traveler"
GOD, Family, career
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 03-10-2014

jackdale will become famous soon enough
Re: Variation question for chart navigators

Dave - on a coastal navigation exam it would be unwise not to account for changes in variation. On older charts and in areas where there a big annual change it should be considered. Check the date on the compass rose of your charts; it will likely be different from the date of purchase and the date of the last update from Notices to Mariners.
IYT Yachtmaster Coastal Instructor
ASA 201, 203, 204, 205, 206, 214
As I sail, I praise God, and care not. (Luke Foxe)
Old 03-10-2014

fryewe is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_E View Post
...I'm studying the book "Inland and Coastal Navigation, 2nd edition" and it says "The additional note telling how it changes with time, such as annual decrease 6', is usually of little practical interest".