Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Seamanship & Navigation
 Not a Member? 

Seamanship & Navigation Forum devoted to seamanship and navigation topics, including paper and electronic charting tools.

Like Tree10Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2014

thevdeub is on a distinguished road
CA-HI Passage and High Swell at sea

Hey folks,
We are planning to start the passage from SoCal to HI next week. From the common literature, November is one of the best month to attempt a passage from CA to HI because this is the end of the Hurricane season and not yet just winter.
However, this year, a couple of systems are still/already pounding in the north and create High Swell advisory (10 to 20m) accross the full Pacific.
I do not see that as an issue as usually the swell period do not create break waves, but I have limited experience on offshore passages.
What do you guys think ? Is it really a no-go sign ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 11-07-2014
Banned

dabnis is on a distinguished road
Re: CA-HI Passage and High Swell at sea

Quote:
Originally Posted by thevdeub View Post
Hey folks,
We are planning to start the passage from SoCal to HI next week. From the common literature, November is one of the best month to attempt a passage from CA to HI because this is the end of the Hurricane season and not yet just winter.
However, this year, a couple of systems are still/already pounding in the north and create High Swell advisory (10 to 20m) accross the full Pacific.
I do not see that as an issue as usually the swell period do not create break waves, but I have limited experience on offshore passages.
What do you guys think ? Is it really a no-go sign ?