SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Where to go for seamanship knowledge?

2K views 12 replies 8 participants last post by  Rhapsody-NS27 
#1 ·
Hey Everyone, I'd like to expand my sailing knowledge and skills to go from small inland lake sailing to ocean / great lakes sailing where I'll need appropriate navigation skills and the ability to handle rough weather and seas. I'm fairly new to sailing, bought my first boat (23' S2), and am now sailing on Lake Erie. I can successfully take my boat out under sail and get back with no problems, and have people at the sailing club who I am learning from, but I'd like to speed up the learning process.

Are there any online courses or coast guard courses that teach this type of material?

I've referenced some sailing books, but have not quite found what I'm after.

Thanks for any info!

#8 ·
Chapman's Piloting and Seamanship
The Annapolis Book of Seamanship ......

etc. etc. are all good 'starting points', as well as getting away from the dock at every opportunity and actually sailing/piloting ... and learning from your mistakes, etc.

;-)

Good advice. Personally I carry Chapman's on board. It's always good source for the beginners or to occasionally brush up on nautical knowledge.

#4 ·
If you don't want to shell out for actual sailing instruction, Youtube is a great resource. Maryland School of Sailing has really good instructional videos.

#6 ·
#9 ·
Click davidpm's link in his post. It will take you to the ASA website. It also has a search feature for you to find classes near you.