Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Seamanship & Navigation
 Not a Member? 

Seamanship & Navigation Forum devoted to seamanship and navigation topics, including paper and electronic charting tools.

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-01-2006
MikeC

mrc06460 is on a distinguished road
Single Handed Sailing

Hi,

I have some sailing experience and am starting to sail single handed in a Catalina 22. I would like some basic pointers or refrerences on how to:

1) Holding the Rudder in place
2) Set the sails
3) Trimming the sails (can it be done without setting the rudder)
4) Setting a reef (I have jiffy reefing
5) Necessary hardware changes

Thanks,

Mike Cohen
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-01-2006

btrayfors will become famous soon enough btrayfors will become famous soon enough
MIke,

Just sold my Catalina 22. Wonderful little boat. I sailed it a lot singlehanded over the past 10 years.

Main thing for me was a rather expensive but well-worth-it hardware upgrade: I replaced the sheet winches with a pair of Lewmar self-tailing winches. Made sailing it alone much easier, since I didn't have to tail the winches.

Great boat. Have fun.

Bill
Old 10-01-2006
Just another Moderator

Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about
Single handing a smallish boat like a C22 should be no problem.
Staying on board is job one. Find a way to secure yourself, especially in any kind of seas, and of course wear a good PFD at all times.

The biggest problem with boats this size is that if you tie off the tiller and then move to do a task your weight upsets the trim enough that the boat starts to turn.