Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Seamanship & Navigation
 Not a Member? 

Seamanship & Navigation Forum devoted to seamanship and navigation topics, including paper and electronic charting tools.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-10-2009
B'Causeican

spec2 is on a distinguished road
Inching toward shore

Can anyone provide some guidance on approaching a shoal to anchor? This is my first year sailing. I'm in Narragansett Bay, RI with a 6'5" keel. I just purchased a dinghy and would like to cruise up to some of the anchor spots in the bay, but I'm really concerned about running aground. I have a GPS plotter Depth and charts but I'm still hesitant to try this. I really don't want to have to call SeaTow to pull me off. any advice?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-10-2009

St Anna is on a distinguished road
Hiya Spec,
Congrats on getting out on the water.
I probably do this all wrong - but self taught and all.
1. Obviously from the chart you will know what you are anchoring in
2. We do a 'drive by' and motor over our 'swing room' just in case there is something on the depth sounder & not on the chart.
3. I use an oversized anchor and if not more chain, then a snubber with a long loop of chain. I hate using 2 anchors.
4. At night, we always prepare as if we are going to move (dinghy up etc)
5 Sometimes we anchor, then dinghy ashore with a loop of line to put around a tree for a stern line ashore. (again - easily removed if need to up anchor at 3.00 am)
6. Practice makes perfect and each situation will be a little different.
Good luck
Old 09-11-2009

Omatako will become famous soon enough
I don't know how well you understand your gear so if this response insults your intelligence I apologise.