SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Seamanship & Navigation (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/seamanship-navigation/)
-   -   is there a website that estimates trip durations? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/seamanship-navigation/64613-there-website-estimates-trip-durations.html)

rmeador 05-11-2010 03:53 PM

is there a website that estimates trip durations?

My Google-fu has failed me. I'm looking for something like Google Maps, but for sailing. I don't want it to plot me an exact course, I realize that is difficult and will depend on the boat, weather, etc. I'm just trying to get a ballpark estimate of how long it would take to sail from one location to another. I'm new to sailing and I have no idea what places are in reach of me for a daysail or a long weekend or a vacation.

For example, I have not bought a boat yet but one of the ones I'm looking at is on lake champlain. I'd like a website that would estimate how long it would take to sail it to Boston, so I can decide if it would make more sense to sail it home or truck it home if I were to buy it.

Surely there must be a website somewhere that does this that I just can't find. Even if it's just as simple as showing me a map and letting me draw a rough course between two points, that would be immensely useful. Thanks.

davidpm 05-11-2010 04:07 PM

earthnc.com

Boasun 05-11-2010 04:13 PM

Even though it is great that you can plot a straight line on a "CHART", a sailing vessel may have to cover twice that distance if the port you desire is straight up wind of you.
But with the wind from close hauled to dead astern, you can figure an average of five to eight knots pending on the boat. Multi hulls vessels can be two to three times faster, but the wind factor is still there.
You need to talk to those that have sail that route you desire and find out what they average over all going from one point to another.