SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Seamanship & Navigation (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/seamanship-navigation/)
-   -   SSB License (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/seamanship-navigation/82482-ssb-license.html)

brokesailor 01-07-2012 07:45 AM

SSB License

"1. Restricted Radiotelephone Operator Permit (RR) permits an individual to communicate on marine MF/HF (SSB) and internationally on marine VHF frequencies."

Would this be a Technician or a General license? If General then what does a Technician License allow you to do? I am studying for my Technician License using Ham Test On line and it seems a lot harder than I would have thought it would be. (Due to poor memory retention). Plus it seems like a lot of useless info, nothing about actually operating the radio.

btrayfors 01-07-2012 09:04 AM

"Would this be a Technician or a General license?"

Neither. The Restricted Radiotelephone Operators License is for marine SSB only, i.e., for use of a type-accepted marine SSB or VHF radio on the marine bands only. It does NOT allow you to operate on the ham bands.

To operate on the ham bands you need an amateur radio license. And, to be really useful, you need at least a General Class amateur radio license, because that will allow you to operate voice on the ham bands.

Hope you keep studying and get the ham license. Go for the General, not just the Technician (you can take both exams same day). There are lots of good resources to help you, including: books and study materials from arrl.org and elsewhere, online courses, training sessions by local ham clubs, etc.

You're right about not much info on actually operating a radio. This you need to get by listening and experimenting, and maybe by a helpful ham who can give you hands-on experience. But, you do need the license first before you can transmit.

Good luck,

Bill
WA6CCA

VetMike 01-07-2012 09:25 AM