Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Seamanship & Navigation
 Not a Member? 

Seamanship & Navigation Forum devoted to seamanship and navigation topics, including paper and electronic charting tools.

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2012
SV Skalliwag #141

brokesailor is on a distinguished road
SSB License

"1. Restricted Radiotelephone Operator Permit (RR) — permits an individual to communicate on marine MF/HF (SSB) and internationally on marine VHF frequencies."

Would this be a Technician or a General license? If General then what does a Technician License allow you to do? I am studying for my Technician License using Ham Test On line and it seems a lot harder than I would have thought it would be. (Due to poor memory retention). Plus it seems like a lot of useless info, nothing about actually operating the radio.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-07-2012

btrayfors will become famous soon enough btrayfors will become famous soon enough
"Would this be a Technician or a General license?"

Neither. The Restricted Radiotelephone Operators License is for marine SSB only, i.e., for use of a type-accepted marine SSB or VHF radio on the marine bands only. It does NOT allow you to operate on the ham bands.

To operate on the ham bands you need an amateur radio license. And, to be really useful, you need at least a General Class amateur radio license, because that will allow you to operate voice on the ham bands.

Hope you keep studying and get the ham license. Go for the General, not just the Technician (you can take both exams same day). There are lots of good resources to help you, including: books and study materials from arrl.org and elsewhere, online courses, training sessions by local ham clubs, etc.