Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Boat Builders Row > Tartan
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-22-2007

rybus9 is on a distinguished road
Buy this Tartan 27 or a Puddle Duck Racer?

Hello,
Here's where I'm at.
I have a very strong desire to own a sailboat and learn how to sail. I've never had a boat in my life. But for most of my life I've dreamed about sailing.
I live in the hills of Tennessee and so I would be learning on a nearby lake.
But after living down in the Florida Keys in a tent for six months I want to return and try living aboard my own sailboat.
Since I am totally new to sailing I probably should build a Puddle Duck Racer on the cheap and get some basics down with it. But I went today and looked at a Tartan 27 that is being sold for only $1000.00. It obviously is a 'project' boat. Needs paint and has a leaking hatch.
That Atomic 4 does run though...
I guess part of me is thinking well, I could buy it for a thousand dollars and start getting it ready for some serious sailing which would take a while. Or I could build a PDR and begin learning how to sail sooner. But I keep seeing myself on the Tartan sailing around the Keys.(afer I've learned how to sail it of course.)
Anyway, I would love to hear what you guys have to say.
Thanks!

Last edited by rybus9; 12-22-2007 at 06:19 PM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-22-2007
moderate?

camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough