Join Date: Jan 2010
Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 8
I think the major point is being missed here.
The Georgia law which is causing such consternation does not affect how long you can keep your boat in the state. It affects how many days you can live on your boat, in this case not more than 30 days annually.
You can be a Georgia resident, have paid Georgia sale taxes on the purchase of your boat, and have your boat properly registered in Georgia, and you cannot sleep on it more than 30 days (nights). This, of course, also applies to non-residents.
They might not throw you out of the state, but the way the law is written I believe they can make you move off your boat.
This does not get noticed as much by transients obviously. It is turning some Georgia boaters into former Georgia boaters, I understand that there are efforts to repeal/amend this law but I don't think there's been any success yet.
Sail Fast Live Slow
36' Solaris Sunstar catamaran