SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Cultural Aspects of Off Shore Cruising

20K views 67 replies 14 participants last post by  Blue Claw 
#1 ·
Thought I'd try a new thread to share some of Aeventyr's offshore experiences over the past 13 years. Anybody else like to contribute stories, pictures, interesting cultural events, the kindness of strangers etc? A pic form my voyage to begin...

Indonesian dancers somewhere on Flores Island

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
What a great idea. Sadly I have no OS cruising experience to contribute but knowing what one might expect in an unfamiliar country must be a significant plus.

Reactions: Bells
#4 ·
The place: St Annes on Martinique, a nice little town outside the harbour at Le Marin. A traditional community fishing exercise (tourists did join in) A couple of boats deployed a net a 1/4 mile or so off the beach, the ends were brought ashore and everyone drags the net ashore, finally harvesting the catch when it's all been gathered in. This probably took over an hour all told..

This puffer fish was an unhappy casualty

#5 · (Edited by Moderator)
This conch didn't even make it off the fishing boat before being turned into conch salad, the day we cleared into Andros in the Bahamas:

#7 ·
Well, SOMEbody has to post some Carnival photos ... guess it might as well be me! The first is from a night parade; all those bright points are LED lights, it was wonderful:

The second was my favorite costume at the daytime "Grand Parade" on Aruba a couple of years ago:

#10 ·
Marie Gallant, these beautifully kept, ornate cemetaries are all over the Caribbean chain.