SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Flying Junior Trolling Motor: Where to put battery?

3K views 5 replies 6 participants last post by  danvon 
#1 ·
Good morning/afternoon sailors!

I'm new to the sailing dinghy world and where we live in St. Mary, GA there is a fair current. My SO would be more comfortable with using an auxiliary motor on our small 14 foot flying junior style sloop to dock and if the wind dies this boat is not easy to row.

We have a trolling motor in mind but I'm wondering where to put the battery?

Super n00b question but am very welcoming to any feedback!

Thank you!

#2 ·
Others with specific FJ experience should respond, however, I would imaging you would want to shoot for a position that does not disrupt how the boat floats. There may be some practical considerations that make this impossible. Obviously, you will need to come up with some way to secure the battery. The only problem with this placement will be that you would need some expensive electrical cables going from midship to stern.

#4 ·
Be sure that you have the battery terminals covered so something metal, like a mast side stay, cannot accidentally drop across the posts when raising the mast..... Don't ask me how I know...
or even water, especially salt water which will conduct current between the battery terminals quite nicely if submerged and you do know that the FJ sailboat can be capsized fairly easily, right?

I don't want to be a killjoy about your plans for a trolling motor but the purist in me says that you would be better off carrying an anchor and a hand held radio rather than a battery and electric trolling motor. Better make it a hand held VHF radio in a sealed plastic bag.